Main sponsor:

Corn Ui Mhuiri Football – St Brendan’s College 2-23 Intermediate School Killorglin 1-8

Monday 31 October 2016

St Brendan’s College 2-23 Intermediate School Killorglin 1-8

by Jim O’Gorman for Kerry’s Eye

St Brendan’s College, current Hogan Cup holders, made an impressive debut in the Corn Ui Mhuiri against a young ISK side.

Kerry minor keeper Billy Courtney was back at midfield to give a first half masterclass. His fielding, long passing and free-taking were of the highest order.

Dara Moynihan did what he does best, linking the play and David Shaw finished for fun.
But the worry for future opponents will be that the less well-known were also impressive. Cian O’Callghan robbed and raided from centre back, Mark O’Shea gave Courtney great support, Jack Griffin showed a great football intelligence and Donnchadh O’Sullivan went on a scoring rampage. By half time the game was out of sight with the Sem leading 1-13 to 0-3. ISK tries hard to match their vaunted opponents throughout with Patrick Daly in particular catching the eye in attack.

By the second half ISK had paired Kerry minors Mike Breen and Caopilim Teahan together in midfield to staunch the flow. The Sem were already ahead by six points before Shaw finished a brilliant four man move started by Courtney’s pinpoint 50 metre pass to the net.

Like precision clockwork the Greens went through their party pieces. When ISK scored two quick points in the second half St Brendan’s with another salvo of points until Donnchadh O’Sullivan blasted to the net. Cian O’Shea got ISK’s consolation score in injury time.

Teams & Scorers

St Brendan’s: Robert Osbourne, Mark Fitzgerald, Chris O’Donoghue, Cian Gammell, Niall O’Donoghue, Cian O’Callaghan, Sean O’Leary, Billy Courtney 0-5 (3f, 2×45), Mark O’Shea, Dara Moynihan, Donnchadh O’Sullivan 1-9 (3f), Jack Griffin 0-3, Barry Keane, David Shaw 1-4, Ciaran Flynn 0-2
Subs: Mark Harnett for Moynihan, Michael Devlin for Gammell, Niall McCarthy for Keane, Sean Doherty for Shaw, Eoin Carroll for O’Sullivan.

ISK: Cian O’Sullivan, David Mangan, Kevin Fitzpatrick, Patrick Carey, Mike Breen, Conor Sugrue, Caolim Teahan, Darragh Casey, Dylan Sullivan, Darragh O’Connor 0-1, Eoin O’Sullivan 0-3 (1f), Daire Cleary 0-2 (1f), Patrick Daly 0-2 (1f), Cian O’Shea, David Mangan. Subs:Ian McGillicuddy for D.O’Sullivan,