Main sponsor:

19th October 2016

Dean Ryan Cup Under 16 ½ A Hurling Semi-Final

Thurles CBS 4-24 Midleton CBS 0-8

Report by Ed Donnelly (

Thurles CBS booked their place in the Dean Ryan Cup Final courtesy of a comfortable victory over a disappointing Midleton CBS on Wednesday at Ardfinnan.

Click to view photos from the game

Midleton started well and scored two points from play in the opening two minutes but amazingly, failed to score from play again in the game. Thurles CBS had a goal chance in the third minute but Eoin Morris saw his effort well saved by the Midleton goalkeeper Jack McGann. This reprieve would not last long however as Max Hackett made no mistake from close range in the fifth minute to raise a green flag for Thurles CBS and put them in to a 1-1 to 0-3 lead. Midleton equalised soon afterwards courtesy of a free from Joe Stack but Thurles CBS were winning all the key duels and raced in to a six point lead at the end of the opening quarter as Max Hackett got in for his second goal.

The second quarter belonged in its entirety to Thurles CBS as Midleton were making no impression at all up front. After Midleton’s promising start, Thurles outscored Midleton by 1-10 to 0-0 in the closing 20 minutes of the first half and by the interval, Thurles led by 2-11 to 0-4.

Little changed in the second half as Thurles continued to score at will. Darren Flood added a third goal for Thurles in the 41st minute before substitute Eoin Purcell scored the fourth goal 12 minutes later. Thurles could afford to score a point from a penalty in the closing stages and despite hitting 14 wides in the match, they racked up an impressive 4-24 by the time the final whistle sounded. Darragh Tynan, Max Hackett and Darren Flood accounted for 3-17 of the Thurles score as all of their forwards scored at least once from play. Joe Stack scored six of Midleton’s points, all from frees.

Thurles CBS will now play St. Colmans in the Final after the Fermoy school defeated John the Baptist Community School by 3-12 to 1-12 in the other semi-final played at Golden.

Thurles CBS: K Bracken; J Synnott, P Melbourne, J Hickey; K Hayes, Z Jackson, K Larkin; K Moloney, J Morrissey (0-1); K Ryan (0-1), D Flood (1-7, 0-4 frees), D Tynan (0-6); J Lanigan (0-2, 0-1 free), E Morris (0-1), M Hackett (2-3)
Subs: E Purcell (1-1), P Doyle, D Ryan (0-1 penalty), J Lee

Midleton CBS: Jack McGann, James Mulcahy, Dylan Hogan, Ryan McCarthy; Richie Landers, Cormac O’Brien, Cathal Hickey; Padraig Leahy, Olan Broderick; Keith Farmer, Kyle Quinnwaites, Joe Stack; John Millerick, Alan Power, Peter Hassett
Subs: David Scanlon for Peter Hassett, Jack Fitzgerald for John Millerick, Luke Walsh for Alan Power. Dylan Healy for Ryan McCarthy

Click to view photos from the game

Posted in: News

Date: 19th October 2016