Main sponsor:

30th November 2016

2016-2017 Dr. Harty Cup Last 16

Midleton CBS 1-15 Scoil Na Trioniode Doon 1-12

Report by Ed Donnelly (

Midleton CBS are through to the Quarter-Finals of the Dr. Harty Cup following a deserved three point victory over Scoil Na Trioniode Doon at Charleville on Wednesday.

Click here to view photos from the game

There was little between the teams in the opening half but Midleton’s greater scoring threat up front was crucial as they led by 0-9 to 0-6 at the interval. Crucially, Midleton outscored Doon by 0-6 to 0-1 from open play in the opening half.

The second half was less than a minute old when Ger Millerick’s shot for goal just got over the line despite the best efforts of Ryan Renehan in the Doon goal and by the 35th minute, Midleton led by 7 points, 1-10 to 0-6.

To their credit, Doon never gave up and had their best spell over the next 15 minutes. Restricting the Midleton forward line to just a point in this period, Doon added five points and saw two good goal chances by substitute Jordan Hayes and Mikey O’Brien blocked. With ten minutes remaining, Midleton’s lead was 1-11 to 0-11.

Having withstood Doon’s comeback efforts, Midleton wrapped up the game by scoring four answered points from the 55th to 60th minute, two of which came from Liam O’Shea with a pointed sideline cut being one of the highlights of the game. Midleton corner-forward Liam Gosnell capped off a man of the match display by scoring the last two of his nine point tally on the day.

During the three minutes of injury time, Doon kept trying to raise a green flag and with full-back Brendan Murphy now playing in an advanced position, it was Murphy who managed to score a goal in the 62nd minute. It would only be a consolation score however as referee blew up for full-time soon afterwards.

Midleton CBS: Ross Walsh; Adam Daly, Sean O’Leary Hayes, Eoghan O’Sullivan; Ryan McConville, Aaron Walsh Barry, Jamie Landers; Luke Duggan Murray, Brendan Twomey; Liam O’Shea (0-2, 0-1 sideline cut), Charlie Terry (0-1), Sean O’Meara; Ger Millerick (1-1), Joe Stack (0-2), Liam Gosnell (0-9, 0-4 frees)

Scoil Na Trioniode Doon: Ryan Renehan (0-2 frees), Jerry O’Brien, Brendan Murphy (1-0), Jack Sheehan; Padraic Ryan, Mikey O’Brien (0-1), Jason Fitzgibbon; David Hickey, Dubhan O’Grady; William Barry (0-6 frees), Jack Ryan (B) (0-1), Ivan O’Dwyer; Cormac Ryan, Bob Purcell (0-1), Chris Berkery
Subs: Gavan Ryan (0-1), Jordan Hayes, Philip Gantley, Frazer Allen

Referee: Michael Sheehan

Posted in: News

Date: 30th November 2016