Main sponsor:

2nd December 2016

Coachford Community College hold out for close win

Coachford Community College 1-12 Colaiste Treasa Kanturk 2-7

Report by Paddy Ryan

Coachford Community College are through to the Munster Senior B FC semi final following their close win over Colaiste Treasa Kanturk on Friday in Millstreet.

This was a keenly contested quarter final all through. In the end it was the Mid Cork side who took their chances better and so advanced. David Thompson opened with an early pointed free for Coachford. Good play by St John Forde led to a fine point by Aodhan Healy. Barry Kenneally opened Kanturk’s account in the 8th minute. Coachford added points by Tadhg Bradley and David Thompson.

In the 1lth minute the sides were level when Kanturk’s Aidan Browne won a great ball in defence and soloed through combining with David O’Connor and Evan Murphy before collecting the return pass and scoring a great goal. Aidan Browne was involved two minutes later when he placed Cathal O’Donoghue who made it 1-2 to 0- 4. Colaiste Treasa were now doing very well with Aidan Browne outstanding at centre back. The Duhallow side missed a few good scoring chances. Eoin O’Connell was in great form for Coachford as was team captain Dean O’Sullivan up to his injury. Both sides had a few wides with Coachford forcing a penalty in the 24th minute when David Thompson was brought down. Thompson made no mistake from the penalty and Coachford were now 1-4 to 1- 2 clear.

David Thompson was in great form for the winners, he pointed a free and in the closing moments he worked well for John Cooper who pointed 1-6 to 1-2. Coachford could have had a goal in injury time when St. John Forde and Aodhan Healy worked well for Tadhg Bradley who was narrowly wide. At the break Coachford led 1-6 to 1-2.

Colaiste Treasa had the aid of the slight breeze on the restart. The Duhallow side gained supremacy at midfield and a series of good points by David O’Connor, Barry Kenneally and Ryan O’Keeffe (2) were followed by a well taken point for Coachford by Eoin Maher after good work by Tadhg Bradley and David Thompson 1-7 to 1- 6. Coachford regrouped well. John Cooper made a good run through the centre and placed David Thompson for a point. Eoin O’Connell made a great clearance out of defence and found Aodhan Healy who gave Coachford a 3 point lead 1-9 to 1-6 after 41 minutes.

David Thompson and David O’Connor swopped a pointed free. Good play for Coachford by St John Forde to Shane Tarrant and David O’Connor led to a well taken point by Aodhan Healy at the end of the third quarter. In the 50th minute Kanturk got back within a point when their midfielders Conor O’Callaghan and Ryan O’Keeffe worked well for Mark Lyne who goaled 1-11 to 2-7. Extra time looked very likely.

However, Colaiste Treasa failed to score again having some wides. The Coachford side also were off target. They introduced Billy Barrett who did well up front. Deep in injury time good play by Paul Ring and Billy Barrett led to a crucial point by Tadhg Bradley. Coachford held out for a semi final meeting with Rockwell in January.

Scorers for Coachford Community College : David Thompson 1-5 (1-0 pen 0-3f) Aodan Healy 0-3, Tadhg Bradley 0-2 John Cooper 0-1, Eoin Maher 0-1.

Colaiste Treasa Kanturk : Aidan Browne 1-0, Mark Lyne 1-0, David O’Connor 0-2 (0-1f) Ryan O’Keeffe 0-2, Barry Kenneally 0-2, Cathal O’Donoghue 0-1.

COACHFORD COMMUNITY COLLEGE : Luke O’Connor (Aghabullogue) Shane Tarrant (do) Eoin O’Connell (do) Eoin Lehane (Canovee) Dean O’Sullivan (Capt) (Dripsey) Paul Ring (Aghabullogue) St. John Forde (Donoughmore) John Cooper (Eire Og) Conor Smith (Aghabullogue) Aodh Twomey (do) Aodan Healy (do) Eoin Maher (Dripsey) Cormac O’Driscoll (Canovee) David Thompson (Aghabullogue) Tadhg Bradley (do)
Subs: Sean Brennan (Canovee) for Dean O’Sullivan (inj) Billy Barrett (Donoughmore) for Conor O’Driscoll.

COLAISTE TREASA KANTURK : Luke Philpott (Lyre) Pat Browne (Newmarket) Liam Cashman (Croke Rovers) Eoin Geaney (Kanturk) Cathal O’Donoghue (Lyre) Aidan Browne (Newmarket) Dan O’Donoghue (Kanturk) Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe) Ryan O’Keeffe (Newmarket) Shane Curtin (Croke Rovers) Evan Murphy (Dromtarriffe) Mark Lyne (St Mark’s) Tomas Howard (Dromtarriffe)
Barry Kenneally (Kanturk) David O’Connor (Boherbue)
Sub: Stephen Jones (Kanturk) for Tomas Howard

Referee : Denis Hickey (Millstreet)

Posted in: News

Date: 02nd December 2016