Main sponsor:

Corn Thomáis Mhic Cholaim Under 18 ½ B Hurling Quarter-Final – Colaiste Spioraid Naomh 4-9 Cashel Community School 0-19

Wednesday 11 January 2017

Spioraid Naomh through after extra time

Colaiste Spioraid Naomh 4-9 Cashel Community School 0-19 (aet)

Report by Paddy Ryan

Colaiste Spioraid Naomh (Bishopstown) came from behind to overcome Cashel Community School in the Munster Senior B HC quarter final at Cappoquin on Thursday. The game was played in dry cold conditions under the scenic snow covered Knockmealdown mountains. Cashel dominated for long periods. They had two early points before Colm O’Driscoll goaled for the winners. Further pressure yielded a number of well taken points by Eoin Connolly, Ross and Conor Bonner as they led 0-9 to 1-3 after 21 minutes. Colm O’Driscoll struck two more points with Rian Quigley, Eoin Connolly adding points that had Cashel clear at the break 0-14 to 1-5.

Scores were very scarce in the third quarter as Colm O’Driscoll and Mark Downey had just a point each in this period. In the 48th minute Eoin Connolly with a free made it 0-16 to 1-6 and Cashel seemed on their way to the semi final. Spioraid Naomh forced a penalty when Kelvin Forde was brought down and keeper Ger Collins goaled. The City side improved as the half moved on but Cashel led by 2 points in the closing moments. Spioraid Naomh had a goal Dean Sexton. Deep in injury time Ross Bonner levelled after good play by Cathal Darcy so the game finished deadlocked 0-17 to 3- 8.

In extra time Eoin Connolly had an early pointed free which was the only score of this period. On the changeover Spioraid Naomh levelled through Colm O’Driscoll. Both sides missed a few chances with Kelvin Forde striking the net with three minutes remaining. Cashel tried very hard but the Spioraid Naomh side with top displays by Colm O’Driscoll, Kelvin Forde, Darragh Cullinane, Kieran Foley and team captain Eoin Lombard held out for a close win. They now face Rice College Ennis in the Munster semi final.

Scorers for Colaiste Spioraid Naomh: Colm O’Driscoll 1-8 (0-5f) Ger Collins 1-0 (pen), Dean Sexton 1-0, Kelvin Forde 1-0, Tom Buckley 0-1
Cashel Community School: Eoin Connolly 0-10 (0-7f, 0-1 ’65. 0-1 pen), Ross Bonner 0-3, Rian Quigley 0-2, John Ryan 0-1, James Kirby 0-1, Conor Bonner 0-1, Mark Downey 0-1.

COLAISTE SPIORAID NAOMH: Ger Collins (Ballinhassig) Emmet Ryan (Bishopstown) Darragh Cullinane (Ballinhassig) Matt Brady (Bishopstown) Darragh Costello (do) Kieran Foley (do) Cathal O’Leary (Ballygarvan) Eoin Lombard (Capt) (Ballinhassig) Dean Sexton (St. Finbarr’s) Cian O’Flynn (do) Conor O’Hora (Bishopstown) Aaron Davin (do) Tom Buckley (do) Colm O’Driscoll (do) Kelvin Forde (Na Piarsaigh)
Subs: Billy O’Connell (St. Finbarr’s) for Cian O’Flynn, Ciaran Cullinane (Ballinhassig) for Aaron Davin, Cormac Hallahan (St Finbarr’s) for Darragh Cullinane, Darragh Cullinane (Ballinhassig) for Cormac Hallihan, Aaron Davin
(Bishopstown) for Tom Buckley.

CASHEL COMMUNITY SCHOOL: William Hayden (Golden-Kilfeacle) Murragh McDermott (Cashel-King Cormacs) Ciaran Quinn (do) Kevin Tobin (Rosegreen) Mark Downey (do) Paddy Fahy (Cashel King Cormacs) John Ryan (Boherlahan-Dualla) Eoin Connolly (Cashel King Cormacs) James Kirby (Boherlahan-Dualla) Colm Moloney (Rockwell Rovers) Cathal Darcy (Boherlahan-Dualla) Alan O’Donnell (Clerihan) Rian Quigley (Moyle Rovers) Conor Bonner (Cashel King Cormacs) Ross Bonner (do)
Subs: Kevin Fitzgerald (Knockavilla Kickhams) for James Kirby, Shane O’Farrell (do) for Colm Moloney, Dylan Gubbins (Galtee Rovers) for Alan O’Donnell.

Referee: Thomas O’Sullivan (Cappoquin)