Main sponsor:

11th January 2017

Impressive win for John the Baptist Hospital

John The Baptist Hospital 2-16 Mitchelstown CBS 0-9

Report by Paddy Ryan

A physically stronger Hospital side were far too strong for Mitchelstown CBS in the Munster Senior B HC quarter final at Kilmallock on Wednesday.

Click here to view photos from the game

The winners aided by the strong wind in the opening half had early points by Michael O’Grady and Dylan O’Shea. James Keating opened CBS account with a long range pointed free in the 6th minute. Good play by Josh Macken to Thomas Vaughan led to a foul on the latter with George Pendle levelling from the free. John The Baptist regrouped well and rapid points by Eoin Sheehan and Tadhg Leddin had them 0-4 to 0-2 clear. CBS moved Cathal Harrington to full forward with Mark Keane going to the wing. George Pendle pointed a free. Hospital replied with a series of fine points by Dylan O’Shea (free and a ’65) Eoin Sheehan, Paudie Maher and Ryan McCarthy-Tobin that opened up a lead 0-10 to 0-3. In the closing moments O’Shea added another free with James Keating pointing a free for CBS in injury time as the winners led at the break 0-11 to 0-4.

On the resumption Hospital had an early point by Ryan McCarthy-Tobin. They introduced Eoin O’Mahony who worked well for their first goal by McCarthy-Tobin in the 37th minute that put them 1-12 to 0-4 ahead. CBS rallied and four points in quick succession by James Keating (3 frees) and Mark Keane cut the lead 1-13 to 0-8 entering the final quarter.

The South Limerick side finished out the game strong being very solid in the half back line and midfield sectors. James Keating and Tadhg Leddin swapped a point with Dylan O’Shea landing a long range pointed free 1-16 to 0- 9. In the 57th minute Paudie Maher soloed through for a goal that sealed the win and a place in the Munster semi final against Dungarvan CBS on January 28.

Scorers for John The Baptist Hospital : Dylan O’Shea 0-7 (0-3f. 0-1 ’65) Ryan McCarthy-Tobin 1-2, Paudie Maher 1-2, Eoin Sheehan 0-2, Tadhg Leddin 0-2, Michael O’Grady 0 -1.
Mitchelstown CBS : James Keating 0- 6 (0-5f) George Pendle 0-2f. Mark Keane 0-1.

JOHN THE BAPTIST HOSPITAL : Brian Heavey (Garryspillane) Mark Quinlan (do) Conor Phipps (Emly) Kyran O’Donnell (Pallasgreen) Brian O’Grady (Kilteely-Dromkeen) Paul O’Heney (Emly) Kevin Bonnar (Bruff) Michael O’Grady (Knockainey) Dylan O’Shea (Garryspillane) Eoin Sheehan (do) Paudie Maher (Patrickswell) Sean Teefy (Ballybricken) Tazdhg Leddin (Hospital-Herbertstown) Dan Cunningham (Garryspillane) Ryan McCarthy-Tobin (do)
Subs: Bradley McNamara (Bruff) foir Brian O’Grady, Eoin O’Mahony (Garryspillane) for Dan Cunningham, Sean McCarthy (Kilteely-Dromkeen) for Ryan McCarthy-Tobin, Calum Winship (Hospital-Herbertstown) for Sean Teefy.

MITCHELSTOWN CBS : Ian O’Sullivan (Glenroe) Tony Watson (Kildorrery) James McKenna (Skeheenarinky) Kieran Fox (Ballygiblin) P J Keating (Kildorrery) James Keating (do) Padraigh McGrath (Glenroe) Dylan Kent (Kildorrery) Shane Doyle (Ballygiblin) Cathal Harrington (Kildorrery) George Pendle (Ballygiblin) Josh Macken (Skeheenarinky) Cathal O’Mahony (Ballygiblin) Mark Keane (do) Thomas Vaughan (Skeheenarinky)
Subs: Cillian Dollian (Ballygiblin) for Josh Macken, Lorcan Finn (do) for Tony Watson.

Posted in: News

Date: 11th January 2017