Main sponsor:

28th January 2017

Our Lady’s Templemore defeated Nenagh CBS by 1-15 to 0-14 in the Dr. Harty Cup Hurling Semi-Final on Saturday January 28th at Toomevara.

Templemore’s eyes firmly set on first Dr Harty Cup since 1978 as they progress to the final

Our Lady’s Secondary School Templemore 1-15 Nenagh CBS 0-14

Report by Shane Brophy for

OUR LADY’S SECONDARY School Templemore progressed to the Harty Cup final for the second consecutive year after getting the better of local rivals Nenagh CBS in a well contested semi-final played in a packed Toomevara this afternoon.

Andrew Ormonde’s 16th minute goal proved to the difference for the majority of a tight game where free-flowing hurling was at a premium as both sides brought huge intensity and workrate with no player having much time on the ball.

Nenagh played with the breeze in the opening half and after a slow start in which they trailed 0-5 to 0-2, fought back to level by the quarter hour when Ormonde forced the ball over the line from close range after Nenagh keeper Barry Hogan had saved from Brian McGrath.

At the other end Templemore goalkeeper Eoin Collins pulled off a superb save to deny Bryan McLoughney on the stroke of half time as Templemore led 1-7 to 0-8 at the break.

Templemore managed to keep their noses in front throughout the second half, relying on the free-taking of Brian McGrath as. Nenagh’s defence stepped up and with sub Ruairi Maher and Ciaran Kelly finding the target, they wouldn’t go away.

However late scores from man of the match Stevie Nolan, Lyndon Fairbrother and Jerry Kelly saw Templemore to victory.

Scorers for Our Ladys Secondary School, Templemore: Neil Quinlan (0-1), Stevie Nolan (0-3), Brian McGrath (0-6, 5f), Jerry Kelly (0-2), Andrew Ormonde (1-2), Lydon Fairbrother (0-1)

Scorers for Nenagh CBS: Barry Hogan (0-1, 1f), Jake Morris (0-2, 1f), Jerome Cahill (0-2), Mark Daniels (0-4, 3f), Billy Seymour (0-1), Ciaran Kelly (0-1), Kevin McCarthy (0-1), Ruairi Maher (0-2)

Our Ladys Secondary School, Templemore:

1. Eoin Collins (Drom & Inch)
2. Sean Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
3. Paraic Campion (Drom & Inch)
4. Eoghan Ryan (Loughmore/Castleiney)
5. Neil Quinlan (JK Brackens)
6. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens, Capt)
7. Aidan O’Meara (Drom & Inch)
8. Diarmuid Ryan (Clonakenny)
9. Stevie Nolan (Drom & Inch)
10. David O’Shea (JK Brackens)
11. Brian McGrath (Loughmore/Castleiney)
12. Jerry Kelly (Borris-Ileigh)
13. Andrew Ormonde (JK Brackens)
14. Ray McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
15. Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Brackens)
Shane Doyle (JK Brackens) for O’Shea (27-29 blood)
Jack Ryan (Toomevara) for D Ryan (45 inj)
Shane Doyle for Ormonde (56)
Jason Gilmartin (Roscrea) for O’Shea (59)

Nenagh CBS:
1. Barry Hogan (Kiladangan)
2. Jack Maloney (Portroe)
3. Conor O’Brien (Portroe)
4. Darragh Molloy (Kiladangan)
5. Mark O’Neill (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
6. Jake Morris (Nenagh Eire Og, Capt)
7. Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
8. Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
9. Stephen Kirwan (Burgess)
10. Conor McCarthy (Nenagh Eire Og)
11. Mark Daniels (Silvermines)
12. Bryan McLoughney (Kiladangan)
13. Billy Seymour (Kiladangan)
14. Ciaran Kelly (Kiladangan)
15. Kevin McCarthy (Toomevara)
Ruairi Maher (Silvermines) for K McCarthy (45)
Robbie Quirke (Cappawhite) for Kirwan (45);
Conor Bonar (Nenagh Eire Og) for O’Neill (53);
Daniel Ryan (Silvermines) for O’Brien (56 inj);
Mark O’Neill for Molloy (59 inj).

Referee: John McCormack (Tipperary)

When – Saturday January 28th at 1:30pm
Where – Toomevara
Referee – John McCormack (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams, Tipperary)
Next Round – The winners will play the winners of St. Colmans Fermoy and Midleton CBS in the Final on Saturday February 18th.

Admission Prices
Adults – €5
Students / OAP’s – €3

Results to Date
Our Lady’s Templemore
Quarter-Final – Our Lady’s Templemore 3-14 Thurles CBS 1-10
Last 16 – Our Lady’s Templemore 6-27 Árdscoil Uí Urmaltaigh Bandon 0-3
Group F – Our Lady’s Templemore 1-23 St Flannans 1-12

Nenagh CBS
Quarter-Final – Nenagh C.B.S 0-20 De La Salle College Waterford 2-13 (AET)
Last 16 – Nenagh C.B.S 1-20 Castletroy CC 1-13
Group H – Nenagh CBS 1-22 Abbey CBS 2-16 (AET)

Match Preview

Toomevara will host the all Tipperary clash of Our Lady’s Templemore and Nenagh CBS on Saturday next. Both schools have been very competitive in this competition in recent years but have only 1 Harty Cup title between then, the 1978 victory for the then named Templemore CBS side. Since 1978, both Nenagh and Templemore have reached 4 Harty Cup Finals apiece only to finish runners-up on each occasion. Templemore lost last year’s final to Ardscoil Ris as well as finals in 2000, 2002 and 2013. For Nenagh, their Harty Cup Final appearances came in 1990, 1996, 1997 and 2012 although in 2012 they did go on to captured the All-Ireland Croke Cup title.

The clear favourite to win this game is Our Lady’s Templemore who have been impressive to date, racking up 10 goals and 64 points while conceding just 2 goals and 25 points. While not being tested in their opening two matches against St Flannans and Árdscoil Uí Urmaltaigh Bandon, their Quarter-Final meeting with Thurles CBS was in the balance for long periods and while Our Lady’s Templemore eventually ran out flattering 10 point winners, they will have learned a lot about their side which will be to their benefit heading in to the semi-final meeting with Nenagh CBS.

Players such as Brian McGrath, Lyndon Fairbrother and team captain Paddy Cadell are well known leaders of this team but others such as Diarmuid Ryan, Jerry Kelly, David O’Shea and Ray McCormack have been integral to their dominant form to date in this competition.

For Nenagh CBS, they have had a tougher route to the semi-final. While favourites to advance from their group, their game with Abbey CBS (last year’s B champions) went to extra time before Nenagh came out on top by three points. Nenagh were again favoured to win their last 16 meeting with Castletroy College and despite a lull midway through the game, ran out seven point winners. Nenagh’s Quarter-Final meeting with De La Salle was a repeat pairing from the same stage of last year’s competition, a game won by De La Salle. On this occasion, it took extra time before Nenagh eventually qualified for the semi-final by a solitary point.

For Nenagh, the 2016 Munster Minor Hurler of the year Jake Morris has been their best player to date and his late scores in the Quarter-Final helped them to defeat De La Salle. Jerome Cahill is another All-Ireland Minor medal winner from last year’s Tipperary side and has been very influential to date in this competition. Others such as Mark Daniels, goalkeeper Barry Hogan and Bryan Moloughney have played important roles in Nenagh’s journey to the semi-final and they will look to these players and others to play to top form in the hope of causing an upset.

John McCormack is in charge of this game with a 1:30pm throw-in.

Posted in: News

Date: 28th January 2017