Main sponsor:

18th October 2017

St. Francis College advance

St. Francis College Rochestown 2-10 St. Flannan’s Ennis 1–11

Report by Paddy Ryan

St. Francis College Rochestown had a close win over St. Flannan’s Ennis in the opening round Munster Senior A FC Corn Ui Mhuiri at Ballyagran on Wednesday.

This was a keenly contested game all through. The winners had the aid of the cross breeze in the opening half. Both sides had some wides before Alan O’Hare pointed after good play by impressive Conor Russell. Russell followed with a pointed free in the 9th minute. St. Flannan’s opened their account in the 11th minute when Kevin Keane pointed. Three minutes later Philip Talty levelled. Good play for ‘Roco’ by Nathan O’Connell led to a fine point by Sean Harrington. St. Flannan’s forced level in the 18th minute when Conor Breathnach pointed a free 0-3 each. The Cork side had a goal soon after when Peter Leneghan worked well for Aaron Hennessy who netted. St. Flannan’s had a late pointed free by Conor Breathnach. The winners led 1-3 to 0-4 at halftime.

St. Flannan’s did well on the restart. They had four points by the 36th minute to lead 0-8 to 1-3. Rochestown introduced Adam Cantwell who did very well. Conor Russell pointed a free and Diarmuid Cormack and Adam Cantwell worked well for Russell who levelled. The latter added a lead point and he followed with a great point in the 42nd minute 1-7 to 0-8. St. Flannan’s replied with rapid points to be deadlocked 1-7 to 0-10 entering the final quarter. Philip Talty and Conor Russell exchanged points that had them tied for the 6th and last time 1-8 to 0-11. Rochestown had a goal by Adam Cantwell with Aaron Hennessy and Conor Russell adding a point each 2-10 to 0-11 by the 53rd minute. A foul on Eoghan Thynne produced a penalty that Gearoid Cahill converted. St. Flannan’s tried very hard to get on terms but it was a resolute St Francis that held firm for a close win.

Scorers for St. Francis: C Russell 0-7 (0-1f) A Hennessy 1-1, A Cantwell 1-0, A O’Hare 0-1, S Harrington 0-1.

St. Flannan’s: G Cahill 1-2 (1-0 pen) C Breathnach 0-3f. P Talty 0-2, K Keane 0-1, E McMahon 0-1, D O’Brien 0-1, E Thynne 0-1.

ST FRANCIS: David O’Keeffe (Douglas) Thomas Murphy (St. Michael’s) Pierce O’Halloran (Ballygarvan) Ciaran O’Riordan (Carrigaline) Nathan O’Connell (Cobh) Diarmuid Cormack (St. Michael’s) Dylan Fenton (Douglas) Dylan Corkery (St Michael’s) Sean Harrington (Passage) A Hennessy (St Michael’s) Brendan Powter (Douglas) Pat Vaughan (Carrigaline) Peter Leneghan (St Michael’s) Conor Russell (Douglas) Alan O’Hare (do).
Subs: Adam Cantwell (Douglas) for Sean Harrington, David Malone (Carrigaline) for Dylan Fenton, Sean Cormack (St. Michael’s) for Pat Vaughan, Ray O’Halloran (Ballygarvan) for Alan O’Hare.

ST FLANNAN’S : Tom O’Brien (Doora-Barefield) Darragh Hickey (Banner) John Finucane (Kilmihil) Cian McDonagh (Doora-Barefield) Killian McDermott (Clarecastle) Darragh O’Shea (Doora-Barefield) Gearoid Collins (Eire Og) Emmet McMahon (Kildysart) Darren O’Brien (Eire Og) Ronan Collins (Banner) Gearoid Cahill (Corofin) Eoghan Thynne (Doora-Barefield) Philip Talty (Eire Og) Kevin Keane (Corofin) Conor Breathnach (Doora-Barefield)
Subs Mark McInerney (Eire Og) for Ronan Collins, Daniel Kelly (Clondegad) for Philip Talty.

Referee: Mike Meade (Limerick)

Posted in: News

Date: 18th October 2017