Main sponsor:

11th October 2017

Close win for AG ‘Mon’ in Dr Harty Cup

Gaelcholaiste Mhuire A.G. 0-16 Thurles CBS 1-12

Report by Paddy Ryan

Gaelcholaiste AG ‘Mon’ held out for a great win over Thurles CBS in the Dr Harty Cup at Fermoy yesterday. The winners had the aid of the wind in the first half. They had early points by Blake O’Murchu from play and a free. Thurles hit the front in the 7th minute when Darren Flood and Devon Ryan worked well for Gearoid Troy who goaled. Both sides had wides with Thurles edging a goal clear 1-2 to 0-2 after 19 minutes. Gaelcholaiste battled back well impressing in the half backline and midfield and points by Daire O’Conaire and Shane O’Riagain left just a point between them. In the 24th minute good play by Greg O’hEalaithe led to a fine point by Daire O’Conaire that levelled. Blake O’Murchu edged the winners in front. Eoghan O’Gealbhain added a point. Devon Ryan pointed a Thurles free in the closing moments that left A.G. ahead by 0-7 to 1-3 at the break.

Gaelcholaiste did very well against the strong wind in the second half. Both sides exchanged an early point. At the three quarter stage the sides were deadlocked 1-6 to 0-9. Thurles relied mainly on Devon Ryan for scores from frees. Points by Shane O’Riagain and Blake O’Murchu in the 46th and 47th minutes proved crucial to the winners who battled hard against the wind. Thurles took the lead by Aaron Ryan. The City side finished very strong with good points by Daire O’Conaire, Shane O’Riagain and Blake O’Murchu as they moved two points clear. In the dying moments Bryan O’Mara landed a long range point for Thurles but it was Gaelcholaiste who held out for a single point win.

Scorers for Gael Cholaiste : Blake O’Murchu 0-7 (0-3f) Daire O’Conaire 0-4 (0-3f) Shane O’Riagain 0-4, Eoghan O’Gealbhain 0-1.
Thurles CBS : Devon Ryan 0-5f. Gearoid Troy 1-1, Aaron Ryan 0-3, Bryan O’Mara 0-2, James Ryan 0-1.

GAELCHOLAISTE MHUIRE : Sean O’Meara (Na Piarsaigh); Stiofan O’Bradaigh (do), Liam O’Riain (Inniscarra), Ciaran O’hArgain (Glen Rovers); Aaron O’hUiginn (Na Piarsaigh), Greg O’hEalaithe (do), Jamie O’Muireasa (do); Daire O’Conaire (do), Dale O’Teimhneain (Glen Rovers); Evan O’Murchu (do), Eoghan O’Gealbhain (Na Piarsaigh), Lucas O’Murchu (do); Sean Busteed (Glen Rovers), Blake O’Murchu (Na Piarsaigh), Shane O’Riagain (Watergrasshill).
Fir ionad : Caoimhin O’Mhuinhneachain (Na Piarsaigh) in ionad Lucas O’Murchu, Lucas O’hArgain (Glen Rovers) in ionad Sean Busteed,

THURLES CBS : Killian Hayde (Golden-Kilfeacle); Rory Darmody (Moycarkey-Borris), Barry McGrath (Thurles Sarsfields), James Ryan (Holycross-Ballycahill); Donncha Quirke (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Bryan O’Mara (Holycross-Ballycahill), Zach Jackson (Moycarkey-Borris); Aaron Ryan (Sean Treacy’s), Ciaran Connolly (Loughmore-Castleiney); Michael Nally (Holycross-Ballycahill), Devon Ryan (Knockavilla-Kickhams), Keith Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane); Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris), Gearoid Troy (Emerald’s), Darren Flood (Moycarkey-Borris)
Subs : Jack Lanigan (Thurles Sarsfields) for Max Hackett, Jack Fallon (Moycarkey-Borris) for Gearoid Troy.

Referee : Diarmuid Kirwan (Eire Og)

Posted in: News

Date: 11th October 2017