Main sponsor:

25th October 2017

St. Colman’s have deserving win in Harty Cup

St Colman’s Fermoy 3-15 Colaiste Iosaef Kilmallock 1-7

Report by Paddy Ryan

St Colman’s Fermoy were worthy winners over Colaiste Iosaef Kilmallock in the second round of the Dr. Harty Cup at Kilfinane on Wednesday. St. Colman’s opened with an early point by David Lardner. Kilmallock took the lead in the third minute when Gearoid McCarthy worked well for Sean O’Leary who goaled. O’Leary followed with a pointed free. From here on St Colman’s picked up their game considerably doing well in defence and at midfield. Fionan Hickey made some very good clearances and David Lardner added three pointed frees 1-1 to 0-4. In the 17th minute a foul on Conleith Ryan led to a penalty that Eoin Davis converted 1-4 to 1-1. Conor Hanley-Clarke and Padraigh O’Leary swopped a point with the Fermoy side having a goal by O’Leary in the 22nd minute 2-6 to 1-2. Colaiste Iosaef had a late point by Dylan O’Brien as Colman’s held an interval lead 2-6 to 1-3.

Exchanges were close on the resumption with David Lardner pointing a Colman’s free. Kilmallock depended a lot on scores from Sean O’Leary who had two frees and Gearoid McCarthy that cut the lead 2-7 to 1-6 by the 39th minute. Eoin Davis pointed a long range free with Conor Hanley-Clarke replying in the 42nd minute with Kilmallock’s last score 2-9 to 1-7. St. Colman’s dominated the entire last quarter adding a goal and six points without reply. They had their 3rd goal by Conleith Ryan in the 53rd minute after good play by Brian Roche. This is full points now for Colman’s from their two games while Colaiste Iosaef have no points from their two games played.

Scorers for St Colman’s: David Lardner 0-7 (0-6f), Eoin Davis 1-1 (1-0 pen. 0-1f), Padraigh O’Leary 1-1, Conleith Ryan 1-0, Eoin Carey 0-2 (0-1f), David Morrisson 0-2, Brian Roche 0-1, Shane O’Keeffe 0-1.

Colaiste Iosaef: Sean O’Leary 1-3 (0-3f), Conor Hanley-Clarke 0-2, Dylan O’Brien 0-1, Gearoid McCarthy 0-1.

ST COLMAN’S: Eoin Davis (St. Catherine’s); Eoin Wallace (do), Jack Scannell (Fermoy), Fionan Hickey (Ballyduff Upper); Sean McCarthy (Fermoy), Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers), Greg Lardner (Fermoy); Dan Dennehy (Watergrasshill), Eoin Carey (Kilworth); Nathan Collins (Fermoy), Brian Roche (Bride Rovers), David Lardner (Fermoy); Dylan O’Connor (Castletownroche), Conleith Ryan (Bride Rovers), Padraigh O’Leary (Watergrasshill)
Subs: Seamus Roche (Ballyhooly) for Eoin Roche, Shane O’Keeffe (Fermoy) for Nathan Collins, Colin Cronin (Watergrasshill) for Padraigh O’Leary.

COLAISTE IOSAEF: James Connery (Kilmallock); David O’Connor (do), Jerry Quaid (Dromin-Athlacca), Andrew Finn (Kilmallock); Darragh O’Brien (Bruff), Liam English (Kilmallock), Paudie O’Connor (do); Padraigh Mulcahy (Bruff), Gearoid McCarthy (Bruree); Danny O’Leary (Bruff), Sean O’Leary (Dromin-Athlacca), James Conheady (Crecora); Conor Hanley-Clarke (Kilmallock), Gearoid Barry (Kilmallock), Timmy McSweeney (Bruff)
Subs: Brian Daly (Kilmallock), Dylan O’Brien (Kilmallock)

Referee: Michael Meade (Ballylanders)

Posted in: News

Date: 25th October 2017