Main sponsor:

Corn Dhonncha Ui Nuainain (Under 18.5 B Football) – Mitchelstown CBS 4-18 Tarbert Comprehensive School 1-6 – Match Report

Wednesday 15 November 2017

Corn Dhonncha Ui Nuainain (Under 18.5 B Football)

Easy win for Mitchelstown CBS footballers

Mitchelstown CBS 4-18 Tarbert Comprehensive School 1-6

Report by Paddy Ryan

Mitchelstown CBS with an outstanding display were comprehensive winners over Tarbert Comprehensive School in the Munster Senior B Football Champions at Rathkeale on Wednesday November 15th.

From the start the winners gained control. Mark Keane was outstanding at midfield and their half backs were also very solid, ensuring plenty supply to a forward line that took some massive scores. The winners had six points on the board to nil by the 17th minute after Rian Hennessy, David Hyland, Cathal O’Mahony, Killian Dollion, Cathal Harrington and Christy English were all on target.

Tarbert had their opening score in the 18th minute by Karl O’Sullivan, the same player followed with a pointed free. Further CBS pressure yielded points by Shane Murphy after good play by Mark Keane and Killian Dollion. Jordan White and Rian Hennessy worked a good movement that led to a well taken Killian Dollion point. In the 24th minute Christy English pointed and on the stroke of half time Mark Keane and Christy English set up Rian Hennessy for a fine point that opened up an 8-point lead at the break 0-10 to 0-2.

On the restart, Christy English and Tadhg McEvoy exchanged an early point. English pointed a free and CBS sealed the win in the 37th minute when Shane Murphy placed Rian Hennessy who goaled. Mark Keane placed Shane Murphy for a point before Hennessy cut through from the wing and placed Christy English whose effort at goal was saved with the rebound falling kindly to Cathal O’Mahony who made it 2-12 to 0-5. Three minutes later CBS had their 3rd goal when Mark Keane put Cathal Harrington through 3-12 to 0-5. Shane Murphy worked well for Cathal Harrington who kicked over.

Both sides made a number of substitutions. Cathal O’Mahony and Jordan White worked a good move that led to O’Mahony taking the return pass and pointing. Cathal Harrington added another. By the 50th minute CBS were 3-16 to 0-5 clear. Christy English added another point. Tarbert had a goal by Andrew Aherne. In the 59th minute CBS had their fourth goal when Cathal O’Mahony and Thomas Vaughan worked well for Sean Cunningham who netted. In the end CBS ran out victors by 4-18 to 1-6. They will face far stiffer opposition in the quarter final after Christmas when they will meet Abbey CBS in the quarter=final.

Scorers for Mitchelstown CBS: Cathal Harrington 1-5, Christy English 0-5 (0-1f), Rian Hennessy 1-2, Cathal O’Mahony 1-2, Sean Cunningham 1-0, Killian Dollion 0-2, Shane Murphy 0-1, David Hyland 0-1.
Tarbert Comprehensive School: Karl O’Sullivan 0-4 (0-3f) Andrew Aherne 1-0, Tadhg McEvoy 0-2, Michael J Ambrose 0-1.

MITCHELSTOWN CBS: Tony Watson (Kildorrery); Colm Whelton (Glanworth), Lorcan Finn (Mitchelstown), Oisin Brennan (Ballyporeen); Danny Keane (Mitchelstown), David Hyland (Fr. Sheehy’s), Dylan Connolly (Glanworth); Mark Keane (Mitchelstown), Shane Murphy (do); Jordan White (do), Cathal Harrington (Kildorrery), Killian Dollion (Mitchelstown); Christy English (Ballyporeen), Cathal O’Mahony (Mitchelstown), Rian Hennessy (Ballyporeen)
Subs: Tomas Vaughan (Ballyporeen) for Mark Keane, John Hunter (Kildorrery), Danny Keane, Sean Cunningham (Kildorrery) for Killian Dollion, Sean Leonard (Glanworth) for Colm Whelton, Richard Hurley (Kildorrery) for Lorcan Finn, Aaron O’Brien (Mitchelstown) for Christy English, Jack Fogarty (Glanworth) for Dylan Connolly, Matthew Walsh-O’Grady for Oisin Brennan.

TARBERT COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOL: Bobby Wrenn (Tarbert); Shane Quinn (Moyvane), Sean Hanrahan (Ballylongford), Eamon Stack-Mulroy (Moyvane); Ciaran Aherne (do), Shean Leahy (do), David Brosnan (Finuge); Liam Greaney (Moyvane), Michael J Ambrose (Shannon Gaels); Jack Sheehan (do), Tadhg McEvoy (Moyvane), Cian Culhane (Shannon Gaels); Jack O’Neill (do), Karl O’Sullivan (do), Darragh Mackessey (Finuge)
Subs: Shay O’Connor (Shannon Gaels) for Shane Quinn, Andrew Aherne (Athea) for Jack O’Neill.

Referee: Sean Hartnett (Drom-Broadford)