Main sponsor:

22nd November 2017

Corn Ui Mhuiri Under 18.5 A Football

Five goals prove vital at Bandon have close win

Hamilton High School Bandon 5-6 Tralee CBS 2-13

Report by Paddy Ryan

Hamilton High School with a brilliant second half emerged close winners over Tralee CBS in the Corn Ui Mhuiri at Station Road Grounds Millstreet on Wednesday. The game was played in light rain throughout in mild conditions.
The Bandon side did well in the opening couple of minutes and they opened the scoring when Tomas Sheehan put Conor Calnan through for a point. Tralee were quick to pick up their game. They got on top in the half backline and midfield areas and they used the short passing at speed to good effect. Daniel Goggins opened their account and Fergal O’Brien had a goal for Tralee after a poor kick out. Rapid points by Daniel Goggins, Michael Kelleher and a punched effort by Fergal O’Brien opened up a lead of 1-4 to 0-1.

Bandon had their second point in the 11th minute when Darragh O’Shea kicked over. Hamilton had a couple of wides and were denied by the post. By the 22nd minute Daire Keane and Gearoid O’Donovan swopped a point as Tralee led 1-6 to 0-3. Tralee had their second goal when Fergal O’Brien finished off a five man attack 2-6 to 0-3. Rory Maguire and Fergal O’Brien exchanged a point with Daniel Goggins putting Michael Kelleher in for an injury time point as Tralee led by 10 points – 2-8 to 0-4 at the interval.

For the second half, Tralee moved David Fitzmaurice to partner Kevin Williams at midfield. Hamilton High School forced an early penalty when Gearoid O’Donovan and Fionn Herlihy worked well for Conor Calnan who was fouled in the area. Darragh O’Shea converted the penalty. From here on the momentum was with Bandon. They did well in defence and their attack took some brilliant goals. Conor Calnan pointed. Good play by Gearoid O’Donovan, Philip Wall led to a great goal by Sean Barry as the lead was down to four points. Bandon had two wides with Fionn Herlihy working well for Bertie Butler who netted in off the post leaving just a point between the 2-9 to 3-5.

Tralee replied with a point after Kevin Williams worked very hard for Michael Kelleher who pointed. In the 49th minute Bandon took the lead when David Curtin with a kickout found Conor Calnan who placed the inrushing Philip Wall who offloaded to Fionn Herlihy who pushed Bandon 4-5 to 2-10 clear. Sean Quilter levelled from a free. High School had their 5th goal in the 23rd minute when Tomas Sheehan, Philip Wall and Conor Calnan all worked very well for Cullen Barry who found the net 5- 5 to 2-11. A foul on Adam Walsh Murphy in the 55th minute led to a free by Darragh O’Shea that was gathered by Cullen Barry with O’Shea taking the return pass and kicking over. In the dying moments Michael Kelleher pointed two frees for Tralee. In the 63rd minute Tralee forced a free outside the 21 – Kelleher’s powerful effort struck the crossbar and was cleared to safety and was followed by the final whistle.

Even though defeated Tralee CBS will still make the knockout stages with Hamilton High School still to meet St Factna’s Skibbereen in two weeks to decide who qualifies. Should Hamilton High School win they would top the group. If St. Factna’s were to triumph it would come down to scoring difference.

Scorers for Hamilton High School: Darragh O’Shea 1-2 (1-0 pen), Bertie Butler 1-0, Sean Barry 1-0, Cullen Barry 1-0, Fionn Herlihy 1-0, Conor Calnan 0-2, Gearoid O’Donovan 0-1, Rory Maguire 0-1.
Tralee CBS: Fergal O’Brien 2-3, Michael Kelleher 0-6 (0-3f), Sean Quilter 0-2, Daniel Goggins 0-1, Darragh Keane 0-1.

HAMILTON HIGH SCHOOL: David Curtin (Ahan Gaels); Tim Twohig (Bandon), Cathal Mangan (Ahan Gaels), Adam Kenneally (Valley Rovers); Paul Lang (Bandon), Cullen Barry (Sam Maguire’s), Rory Maguire (Castlehaven); Gearoid O’Donovan (Newcestown – Captain), Tomas Sheehan (Kilbrittain); Sean Barry (Valley Rovers), Philip Wall (Kilbritain), Conor Calnan (Bandon); Darragh O’Shea (Valley Rovers), Fionn Herlihy (Sam Maguire’s), Bertie Butler (Kilbrittain)
Subs Adam Walsh-Murphy (Valley Rovers) for Tim Twohig, Niall Lawton (Valley Rovers) for Conor Calnan.

TRALEE CBS: Devon Byrns (Na Gaeil); Sean Hamilton (Churchill), Tadhg Brick (Ballymacelligott), Damian Burke (Na Gaeil); Michael Scanlon (Castlegregory), John Walsh (Knocknagoshel), Eoghan Carroll (Austin Stacks); Kevin Williams (John Mitchel’s), Darragh Regan (Ballymacelligott); Sean Quilter (Austin Stack’s), Daniel Goggins (Na Gaeil), Daire Keane (Ballymacelligott); Fergal O’Brien (St. Patrick’s Blennerville), David Fitzmaurice (Austin Stacks), Michael Kelleher (John Mitchel’s)
Subs: Jason Mortimer (Churchill) for Daire Keane, Jack Myers (John Mitchel’s) for Daniel Goggins, Padraigh White (John Mitchel’s) for Sean Hamilton.

Referee: Denis O’Keeffe (Millstreet)

Posted in: News

Date: 22nd November 2017