Main sponsor:

24th February 2018

Mitchelstown CBS well beaten in Munster Senior B Football Championship final

Pobal Scoil Inbhear Sceine Kenmare 3-14 Mitchelstown CBS 1-10

Report by Paddy Ryan

Pobal Scoil Kenmare were easy winners over Mitchelstown CBS in the Munster Senior B Football Final at Ballyvourney on Saturday.

CBS were short key players Mark Keane and James Keating. The Kerry side gained control from the start. They dominated in the half backline and midfield sectors. Their attack in regular supply took some very good scores and the outcome was never in doubt. Tadhg O’Siochru worked well for Donal O’Sullivan for a 4th minute goal. CBS had points by Christy English (2) and Cathal O’Mahony. A second goal for Kenmare in the 18th minute by Donal O’Sullivan opened up a two-goal lead 2-3 to 0-3. Kenmare added six more points before the break while CBS had just two in this period as the winners led 2-9 to 0-5 at half time.

Kenmare dominated on the restart and helped by a goal from a penalty by Dylan O’Connor they moved 3-11 to 0-5 clear. CBS had points by Killina Dollion, Cathal O’Mahony and Christy English 3-12 to 0-8 entering the final quarter. CBS battled bravely against the odds. Dylan Connolly goaled in the 53rd minute after a four-man movement. In the end there was no denying Kenmare their first ever Senior B Football Championship win. For CBS it was their second defeat in the final in a row.

Scorers for Pobal Scoil Inbhear Sceine: D O’Sullivan 1-5 (0-3f), T O’Siochru 1-4, D O’Connor 1-3 (1-0 pen), C O’Connor 0-1f, G Lynch-Wharton 0-1.
Mitchelstown CBS: C English 0-4 (0-1f), D Connolly 1-0, C O’Mahony 0-3 (0-1f), C Harrington 0-1, K Dollion 0-1, R Hennessy 0-1.

POBAL SCOIL INBHEAR SCEINE: D Van Daele (Sneem); J Foley (Kilgarvan), J McCarthy (Kenmare), J Harrington (Tousist); C O’Sullivan (do), D McCarthy (Kenmare), C O’Sullivan (Kenmare); D Casey (Kilgarvan), G Lynch-Wharton (Kenmare); D O’Connor (Kenmare), T O’Siochru (Tousist), C Crowley (Templenoe); C O’Connor (Kenmare), D O’Sullivan (Capt) (Kilgarvan), T Cronin (Kenmare)
Subs: L Twomey (Kilgarvan) for D Casey, T Murnane (Kenmare) for C O’Connor, C Lucey (Kenmare) for J Foley, J Foley (Kilgarvan) for D McCarthy (black card)

MITCHELSTOWN CBS: T Watson (Kildorrery); O Brennan (Ballyporeen), L Finn (Mitchelstown), T Vaughan (Ballyporeen); D Connolly (Glanworth), D Hyland (Vice Capt) (Fr. Sheehy’s), D Keane (Mitchelstown); A O’Brien (do), S Murphy (do); J White (do), C Harrington (Kildorrery), K Dollion (Mitchelstown); C English (Ballyporeen), C O’Mahony (Mitchelstown), R Hennessy (Ballyporeen)
Subs: J Hunter (Kildorrery) for D Hyland, C Whelton (Glanworth) for J White, M Walsh-O’Grady (Kildorrery) for T Vaughan, T O’Sullivan (Kildorrery) for C Harrington.

Referee: John O’Halloran (Limerick)

Posted in: News

Date: 24th February 2018