Main sponsor:

17th February 2018

Ardscoil Ris defeated Midleton CBS by 3-18 to 2-10 in the the 2017/2018 Dr. Harty Cup Hurling Final on Saturday February 17th at Mallow GAA Complex.

Impressive Ardscoil Ris win another Harty Cup title for Limerick

Report by Jerome O’Connell for the Limerick Leader newspaper

Click here to view photos from the game

ARDSCOIL Ris are Harty Cup champions for a fifth time after this Saturday’s 3-18 to 2-10 final win over Midleton CBS. For man in the colours of the North Circular Road secondary school it’s a second winners medal in three years.

Harty champions in 2010, 2011, 2014 and 2016, this latest title success was captained by Adare’s Ronan Connolly.

Watched by 2989 in Mallow, this was a most professional final display from Ardscoil Ris who were on top from start to finish.

Ardscoil Ris were 2-7 to 0-6 ahead by half time. The goal came from Rian Considine and Cathal O’Neill in half when the sides shared six wides.

The first goal came in the fifth minute and it was made and finished in Cratloe – Diarmuid Ryan doing well to strike one-handed across the goal and Considine drilled to the net for a 1-2 to 0-1 lead.

Aidan Moriarty and Paul O’Brien (free) had the early points. O’Brien was to end the half with four from placed balls.

Diarmuid Ryan and David Woulfe points moved the Limerick city side 1-5 to 0-3 clear at the mid-point of the half.

Then in the 19th minute came the second goal – Cathal O’Neill doing brilliantly to work his way in from the left before beating the keeper at the near post. There was to be just two O’Brien frees in the remaining 11-minutes but Ardscoil Ris brought a seven point lead into the break.

O’Neill had two early second half points to keep Midleton at bay and then Diarmuid Ryan hit 1-1 to put the final beyond doubt. Ryan’s goal came as the final entered the final quarter. That had Ardscoil Ris 3-11 to 0-7 ahead.

Midleton did respond and Liam Gosnell had two goals in quick succession. Conor Bourke, Rian Considine and Paul O’Brien all hit back with points and even though Cillian O’Reilly was sent off for a second yellow card late-on, there was no doubting the winners.

Jason Gillane produced two fine late saves to ensure a Munster Post Primary Schools Senior A Hurling Championship title for Limerick.

SCORERS: Paul O’Brien 0-8 (4frees, 2 ‘65), Cathal O’Neill 1-3, Diarmuid Ryan 1-2, Rian Considine 1-1, Aidan Moriarty, David Woulfe, Conor Bourke and Barry O’Connor 0-1 each. Midleton CBS: Liam Gosnell 2-7 (1-4frees), Joe Stack, Cathal Hickey and Sean O’Leary Hayes 0-1 each.

ARDSCOIL RIS: Jason Gillane (Patrickswell); Padraig Heaney (Na Piarsaigh), Josh Considine (Patrickswell), Emmet McEvoy (Na Piarsaigh); Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Connolly (Adare), Cillian O’Reilly (Patrickswell), Rory Duff (Mungret St Pauls), Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe); Aidan Moriarty (Clonlara), Paul O’Brien (Mungret St Pauls), David Woulfe (Kilmallock); Cathal O’Neill (Creocora), Rian Considine (Cratloe), Conor Bourke (Clonlara)
Subs: Barry O’Connor (Ballybrown) for Conor Bouke (49mins), James Daly (Na Piarsaigh) for Aidan Moriarty (55mins), Sean Long (Na Piarsaigh) for David Woulfe (60mins).

MIDLETON CBS: Alan Power (Midleton); Dylan Hogan (Killeagh), Sean O’Sullivan (Midleton), Eoghan O’Sullivan (St Colmans); Sean O’Leary (Midleton), Aaron Walsh Barry (Carrigtwohill), Jamie Landers (Killeagh); Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills), Kian Farmer (Midleton); Daragh Moran (Kiltha Og), Liam O’Shea (Lisgoold), Liam Gosnell (Carrigtwohill); Arthur Nganou (Midleton), Joe Stack (Kiltha Og), Cathal Hickey (Lisgoold)
Subs: Olan Broderick (Killeagh) for Kian Farmer (40mins), Gary Carroll (Midleton) for Dylan Hogan (55mins).

REFEREE: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).

Live Streaming

The final will be streamed live via Sporting Limerick
Click Here to view the game from 1:25pm on Saturday.

Fixture Details

Dr. Harty Cup Under 18.5 A Hurling 2017/2018 Final
Ardscoil Ris v Midleton CBS
Venue: Mallow GAA Complex @ 1:30pm
Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of Saturday’s 40 page all colour souvenir match programme for 3 euro

Ticket Prices

Adults – €10 adults
Students / OAPs – €5
Kids Under 14 – Free

Paths to the Final


Midleton CBS 2-27 Our Ladys Templemore 0-16 – Match Report / Photos
Ardscoil Ris 0-17 CBC Cork 2-8 – Match Report / Photos


Ardscoil Ris 3-20 Gaelcholaiste Mhuire AG 1-5 – Match Report / Video Highlights
CBC Cork 1-17 St Colmans 1-13 – Match Report
Our Lady’s Templemore 1-14 JTB Hospital 0-16 – Match Report / Photos
Midleton CBS 0-15 Thurles CBS 1-11 – Match Report

Group A Results

Round 1

CBS Midleton 1-21 De La Salle College Waterford 0-12
Árdscoil Rís 3-23 Scoil Na mBraithre` Rathluirc 0-9

Round 2

CBS Midleton 5-19 Scoil Na mBraithre Rathluirc 2-11
Árdscoil Rís 0-20 De La Salle College Waterford 0-8

Round 3

De La Salle College Waterford 0-14 Scoil Na mBraithre` Rathluirc 1-10
Árdscoil Rís 2-16 CBS Midleton 1-18 – Match Report

Corn An Artaigh Group A
Pos. Team P W L D F A Pts
1 Árdscoil Rís 3 3 0 0 74 38 6
2 CBS Midleton 3 2 1 0 79 51 4
3 De La Salle College Waterford 3 1 2 0 34 57 2
4 Scoil Na mBraithre` Rathluirc 3 0 3 0 39 80 0

Posted in: News

Date: 17th February 2018