Main sponsor:

7th November 2018

Corn Tomas Mac Choilm (Munster Under 19 B Hurling)

Comfortable win for Charleville CBS

Charleville CBS 4–14 Dungarvan CBS 0-10

By Paddy Ryan

Charleville CBS had a big win over Dungarvan CBS in the Munster Senior B HC (Corn Tomas Mac Choilm) at Ballygiblin on Wednesday.

The North Cork side were the better balanced and they led all through. Frankie Herr opened with an early point with David O’Riordan pointing 3 frees as they moved 0-4 to 0-1 clear after 10 minutes. Conor Browne with two pointed frees and a Joe Duggan point cut the lead to a point 0-4 to 0-3. Good play by Kieran O’Sullivan and Jack Twomey led to a fine point by Conor Griffin. After 18 minutes Charleville led 0-6 to 0-4. A foul on Conor Griffin led to a free by David O’Riordan that found the net 1-6 to 0-4. Tom O’Connell kept Dungarvan in touch with two frees but it was Charleville who held a narrow lead at the break 1-6 to 0-7.

The Rathluirc side dominated in midfield and in attack in the second half. A series of points by O’Riordan (2) and Cormac O’Brien (2) opened up a lead 1-10 to 0- 7. Dungarvan lacked penetration up front.
Tom O’Connell pointed a free with Conor Buckley soloing through and placing Jack Twomey for an excellent point 1-11 to 0-8. Padraigh Fitzgerald added a point for the Waterford side. From here on it was all Charleville. Cormac O’Brien goaled from a penalty and Sam Donnelly followed with a quick goal as they moved 3-11 to 0-9 clear. Conor Buckley pointed with Conor Griffin and Cathal Barrington adding a point each. In injury time Cathal Barrington placed Pat O’Donovan for a goal as Charleville emerged winners by a 16-point margin.

Scorers for Charleville CBS: David O’Riordan 1-6 (frees) Cormac O’Brien 1-1 (1-0 pen, 0-1 f) Sam Cronnelly 1-0, Pat O’Donovan 1-0, Conor Griffin 0-3 Conor Buckley 0-2 Jack Twomey 0-1, Cathal Barrington 0-1.
Dungarvan CBS: Tom O’Connell 0-4 f, Conor Browne 0-2 f, Sean Ronayne 0-1, Joe Duggan 0-1, Pat Fitzgerald 0-1, Tristan Loftus 0-1.

CHARLEVILLE CBS: Conor Reynolds (Charleville); Fergal O’Connor (Effin), Padraigh O’Shea (Granard Gaels), Adam Barrett Ballyhea); Ben Herlihy (Castletown-Ballyagran), Kieran O’Sullivan (‘Shandrum), Sam Williams (Bruree); Jack Twomey (‘Shandrum), Oran O’Connell (Charleville); David O’Riordan (Castletown-Ballyagran), Cormac O’Brien (‘Shandrum), Brian Clifford (Effin); Frankie Herr (Effin), Conor Griffin (‘Shandrum), Sam Cronnolly (Bruree)
Subs: Luke Morrissey (‘Shandrum) for Ben Herlihy (inj), Paul O’Sullivan (Shandrum) for Brian Clifford, Conor Buckley (Charleville) for Oran O’Connell, Paddy O’Donovan (Effin) for David O’Riordan, Rory O’Connor (Effin) for Kieran O’Sullivan, Cathal Barrington (Bruree) for Conor Griffin.

DUNGARVAN CBS: Jack McGrath (Brickey Rangers); Oisin Downey (An Gaeltacht), Jack Lombard (Brickey Rangers), Joe Booth (St. Patrick’s); Tristan Loftus (Dungarvan), Michael Kiely (Abbeyside), David Condon (St. Patrick’s); Conor Browne (Brickey Rangers), Padraigh Fitzgerald (Kilrossanty); Tom O’Connell (Brickey Rangers), Joe Duggan (Dungarvan), Sean Ronayne (Brickey Rangers); Josh Whelan-Veale (do), Pat Power (Kilrossanty), Toby Taylor (Dungarvan)
Subs: Niall Browne (Brickey Rangers) for Pat Power, Seamus Fitzgerald (Kilrossanty) for Padraigh Fitzgerald, Luke Ryan (Kilrossanty) for Josh Veale-Whelan, Edmund Fraher (Dungarvan) for Toby Taylor, Luke Power (An Gaeltacht) for Oisin Downey,

Referee: Dave Farrell (Mitchelstown)

Posted in: News

Date: 07th November 2018