Main sponsor:

23rd November 2018

Easy win for St Brendan’s Killarney

St. Brendan’s Killarney 4-16 Clonakilty Community School 0-5

Report by Paddy Ryan

St. Brendan’s Killarney were comprehensive winners over Clonakilty Community School in the Corn Ui Mhuiri at rainswept Millstreet on Friday. Exchanges were close early on with the sides level 0-1, 0-2 and 0-3 each. The opening six points shared by Michael Lenihan (2) and Paul O’Shea while Clonakilty’s points came from Paraic Cullinane (2) and Conor Hayes. As the half progressed, St Brendan’s took control. Their defence was very solid and they got on top in midfield and their attack took some good scores. Paul O’Shea at centre forward was outstanding all through. In the 2lst minute O’Shea with a quick free found Patrick Darcy who pointed. O’Shea followed with four points before the break as the Kerry side led 0-8 to 0-3 at the break.

On the resumption O’Shea made a very good catch and placed Patrick Darcy for a goal. Clonakilty made some good attacks but overall the lacked penetration up front. St Brendan’s keeper Mark Kelleher made some good saves. The winners second goal came from a 41st minute penalty, 2-10 to 0-3. Further pressure yielded points by Paul O’Shea, Ryan O’Grady and Emmet O’Shea as the ‘Sem’ led 2-13 to 0-3 after 48 minutes. Brian White had two late pointed frees for Clonakilty with the winners having late goals by Emmet O’Shea and Ryan O’Grady as they ran out very easy winners in the end.

Scorers for St Brendan’s: Paul O’Shea 1- 6 (1-0 pen. 0-3f), Emmet O’Shea 1-3 (0-1f), Ryan O’Grady 1-3 (0-2f), Patrick Darcy 1-1, Michael Lenihan 0-1, Peter O’Sullivan 0-1, Garry Vaughan 0-1.
Clonakilty Community School: Paraic Cullinane 0-2, Brian White 0-2f, Conor Hayes 0-1.

ST. BRENDAN’S KILLARNEY: Mark Kelleher (Glenflesk); Peter O’Sullivan (Legion), Terry Sparling (Dr. Croke’s), Mark Cooper (do); Ruairi Doyle (Fossa), Emmet Finnan (Glenflesk), Evan Smith (Legion); Garry Vaughan (Spa), Darragh Lyne (Legion); Patrick Darcy (Glenflesk), Paul O’Shea (Kilcummin), Eoghan O’Sullivan (Legion); Ryan O’Grady (do), Michael Lenihan (Dr. Croke’s), Emmet O’Shea (Fossa)
Subs: Dylan Callaghan (Firies) for Darragh Lyne (inj), Evan Looney (Dr. Croke’s) for Emmet Finnan, Harry Potts (Dr. Croke’s) for Evan Smith, Keith O’Leary (Kilcummin) for Mark Kelleher, Eoin Moynihan (Glenflesk) for Mark Cooper, Oisin O’Connor (Dr. Croke’s) for Peter O’Sullivan.

CLONAKILTY COMMUNITY SCHOOL: King Lylla (Clonakilty); Brian Deasy (Kilmeen), Jack Lawton (Ibane Gaels), Dan Peet (Clonakilty); Darragh O’Connor (Doheny’s), Jack Wycherley (Ibane Gaels), Ciaran O’Neill (Ballinascarthy); Ciaran Nyhan (do), Cian O’Donoghue (Clonakilty); Conor Hayes (Ibane Gaels), Dean Harte (Ballinascarthy), Oran Bancroft (Clonakilty); Ryan O’Donovan (Ibane Gaels), Liam Halligan (Clonakilty), Paraic Cullinane (do).
Subs: Brian White (Clonakilty) for Liam Halligan, Tony O’Connell (do) for Dean Harte, Cian Ryan (Ballinascarthy) for King Lylla, Sean Walsh (Ibane Gaels) for Ryan O’Donovan.

Referee: Denis Hickey (Millstreet)

Posted in: News

Date: 23rd November 2018