Main sponsor:

9th January 2019

Late goal secures semi-final spot for CBC Cork

C.B.C. (Cork) 2-14 Nenagh C.B.S. 2-12

Report by Paddy Ryan

C.B.C. Cork with an injury time goal edged out Nenagh CBS in the Harty Cup Quarter-Final at Kilmallock on Wednesday. The game was played in heavy conditions due to the rain prior to the game. Exchanges were close all through with the sides level on six occasions.

C.B.C. opened with a sideline cut from Shane Barrett with Padraigh Power following with a pointed ’65 after four minutes. Nenagh had four pointed frees on the trot by Bryan McLoughney that had them 0-4 to 0-2 clear after 14 minutes. Declan Hanlon and Padraigh Power (free) replied as they were deadlocked 0-4 each at the end of the first quarter. Nenagh edged ahead with points by Conal Moran and McLoughney (free). C.B.C. hit back with another pointed free by Padraigh Barrett. They struck for their first goal in the 23rd minute when Cillian O’Donovan, Owen McCarthy and Patrick McBarron worked very hard for Padraigh Power who netted – 1-5 to 0-6. Both sides exchanged a point. C.B.C. keeper Cian Long saved well from Sean Hayes in the closing moments. At half time C.B.C. led by 1-6 to 0-7.

The standard of hurling improved greatly on the restart. Padraigh Power added a free. Both sides exchanged a point before Nenagh forced level in the 37th minute when Sean Hayes put Conor McKelvey in for a goal 1-8 each. Cillian O’Donovan with a long-range point edged C.B.C. in front. The Cork side lost Conor Murphy to a second yellow card. In the 40th minute Bryan McLoughney with a free levelled 1-9 each. They were also deadlocked at 1-10 and 1-11 each entering the final ten minutes. Nenagh edged ahead with Padraigh Power levelling for the last time at 1-12 each. C.B.C. hit for two good points by Owen McCarthy and Shane Barrett. In injury time Bryan McLoughney seemed to have got the winning goal from a free. From the puckout by Cian Long, Niall Hartnett won possession and placed Declan Hanlon for the winning goal in the 65th minute.

Scorers for C.B.C.: Padraigh Power 1-8 (0-7 frees, 0-1 ’65) Declan Hanlon 1-1, Shane Barret 0-3 (0-1 sideline cut) Cillian O’Donovan 0-1, Owen McCarthy 0-1.
Nenagh C.B.S.: Bryan McLoughney 1-8 (frees), Conor McKelvey 1-0, Conal Moran 0-2, Kevin McCarthy 0-2.

C.B.C.: Cian Long (Glen Rovers); Conor Murphy (Sarsfields), David Barry (do), Peadar Hennessy (Mallow); Gearoid Mulcahy (Glen Rovers), Iarlaith Daly (Lismore), Cillian O’Donovan (Douglas); Declan Hanlon (Blarney), Kevin Finn (Midleton); Shane Barrett (Blarney) (Capt), Niall Hartnett (Douglas), Padraigh Power (Blarney); Owen McCarthy (Inniscarra), Patrick McBarron (Carrigaline), Jack Cahalane (St. Finbarr’s).
Sub: James Scally (Bishopstown) for Patrick McBarron.

NENAGH CBS: Rory Brislane (Toomevara); Darragh Spillane (do), Conor O’Brien (Portroe), John O’Meara (Kiladangan); Conor Bourke (Ballina), Darragh McKelvey (Silvermines), Sean Phelan (Nenagh Éire Óg); Conor Hennessy (do), Darragh Nolan (Silvermines); Conal Moran (Shannon Rovers), Kevin McCarthy (Toomevara), Kian O’Kelly (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Bryan McLoughney (Kiladangan), Sean Hayes (do), Ben Cooney (Burgess).
Subs: Conor McKelvey (Silvermines) for Darragh Spillane, Michael Corcoran (Silvermines) for John O’Meara, Oisin Murphy (Silvermines) for Sean Phelan.

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Posted in: News

Date: 09th January 2019