Main sponsor:

18th October 2019

2019/2020 Dr. Harty Cup Under 19 A Hurling Round 1

Easy win for Thurles CBS in Harty Cup

Thurles CBS 1-24 St Colman’s 2-13

Report by Paddy Ryan

Thurles CBS emerged easy winners over St Colman’s Fermoy in the Harty Cup at Clonmel on Friday.

From the start the winners dominated. Their half forwards were very effective and they linked up very well taking some brilliant scores. In the early moments Jack Leamy, Darren Flood, Devon Ryan and Paddy Creedon were all on target as they led 0-6 to 0-0 after 12 minutes.

Leon Doocey opened St Colman’s account with Jake Carr and Pat Sheehan adding points as they trailed 0-8 to 0-3 after 17 minutes. The physically stronger Thurles side continued to do well. Darren Flood and Keith Ryan with points made it 0-10 to 0-3. Darragh Flynn pointed a Colman’s free. The Fermoy side forced a penalty when Darragh O’Leary was fouled. Thurles keeper Jason O’Dwyer saved well from Darragh Flynn’s penalty with the rebound going out for a ’65 that Flynn converted. At half time Thurles led 0-14 to 0-7.

Darragh O’Leary pointed a free on the resumption with Adam Walsh having a goal after good play by Darragh Daly and Darragh Flynn. Darragh Flynn with another free reduced the lead to two points 0-14 to 1-9. Thurles CBS took control from here to the end. They had a goal by Paddy Creedon after good play by Devon Ryan, Darren Flood and Jack Lee – 1-14 to 1- 9.

Both sides exchanged points with Thurles leading 1-18 to 1-10 by the end of the third quarter. St Colman’s were reduced to 14 players. They had a goal and three more points in the last quarter while Thurles had six in this period. Colman’s second goal came from Ben Nodwell in the 56th minute.

Scorers for Thurles CBS: J Leamy 0-6, D Ryan 0-5 (0-4 frees), P Creedon 1-2, D Flood 0-4, E Purcell 0-2, J Morrissey 0-2, S Ferncombe 0-2, K Ryan 0-1

St. Colman’s: D Flynn 0-8 (0-7 frees, 0-1 ’65) B Nodwell 1-1, A Walsh 1-0, D O’Leary 0-2, J Carr 0-1, L Doocey 0-1

THURLES CBS: J O’Dwyer (Clonoulty-Rossmore); M P O’Dwyer (Boherlahan-Dualla), F Hannafin (Holycross-Ballycahill), J Armstrong (Thurles Sarsfields); K Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane), K Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris), K Costello (Thurles Sarsfields); C Lloyd (Moyne-Templetuohy), J Morrissey (Moycarkey-Borris); J Leamy (Golden-Kilfeacle), D Ryan (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams), E Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields); P Creedon (do), D Flood (Moycarkey-Borris), J Lee (Roscrea)
Subs: K Larkin (Moyne-Templetuohy) for J Leamy, E Connolly (Loughmore-Castleiney) for D Flood, S Fedrncombe (Holycross-Ballycahill) for J Lee

ST COLMAN’S: C Hogan (Bride Rovers); P Condon (Harbour Rovers), C O’Brien (St. Catherine’s), C Condon (Fermoy) ; C Roche (do), L Doocey (Castlelyons), C Howard (Lismore); D Daly (Fermoy), D Flynn (Ballygiblin); P Sheehan (Ballycastle Gaels), D O’Leary (Watergrasshill), J Carr (Fermoy); D Collins (Ballycastle Gaels), B Nodwell (Sarsfields), J Waters (Fermoy)
Subs: D Roche (Ballycastle Gaels) for J Waters, A Walsh (Bride Rovers) for P Sheehan, C Tobin (Bride Rovers) for D Daly, G Doyle (Watergrasshill for C Condon

Referee: N Cosgrave (Marlfield)

Posted in: News

Date: 18th October 2019