Main sponsor:

Corn Dhonncha Ui Nuanain (Under 19 B Football) Semi-Final – Patrician Academy Mallow 1-12 Coláiste An Spioráid Naomh Bishopstown 1-7

Tuesday 21 January 2020

Corn Dhonncha Ui Nuanain (Under 19 B Football) Semi-Final

Well balanced Academy through to Munster Senior B FC final

Patrician Academy Mallow 1-12 Coláiste An Spioráid Naomh Bishopstown 1-7

Patrician Academy advanced to the Munster Senior B Football Final following their win over Colaiste An Spiorad Naomh at the Páirc Uí Chaoimh 4G Pitch on Tuesday January 21st.
The winners gained supremacy early being prominent in the half backline and midfield sectors. Conor McGoldrick opened the scoring for the City side after good play by Simon Collins and Conor Quirke. Academy had two wides from frees before David Walsh placed Barry O’Shea for a great point. Now on top, Mallow added points by Charlie Carroll and Eoin Kelleher. In the 12th minute Michael Quirke pointed for the City side. Barry O’Shea landed a pointed free and the Avondhu side moved 3 clear in the 20th minute when Ciaran O’Sullivan and Barry O’Shea worked a good movement with the advancing O’Sullivan making it 0-5 to 0-2. Good play by Kevin O’Mahony and Conor Corbett led to another O’Shea point off the crossbar. Eoin Walsh worked well for Eoin Kelleher who pointed.

The latter followed with another point after good play by David Walsh. Sean Kelly was in great form for the winners at centre back. Charlie Carroll made it 0-9 to 0-2. Spioráid Naomh rallied well in the closing moments. Ivan and Michael Quirke worked well for Conor Dunne who pointed. In injury time Simon Collins cut the lead at the break to six points 0-10 to 0-4.
On the resumption David Walsh, Charlie Carroll and Conor Corbett worked well for Carroll who pointed. Spioráid Naomh made a couple of substitutions and they came very strong. Ivan Quirke had two points and they had their goal in the 47th minute when Simon Collins Michael Quirke and Colin O’Flynn all worked hard for Pat O’Neill who goaled from close range 0-11 to 1-6. Ivan Quirke followed with another point. The Mallow side regrouped well and Jamie O’Keeffe and Barry O’Shea worked well for impressive Eoin Kelleher who goaled. Spioráid Naomh keeper Kevin Delaney made a series of late saves with Academy holding out for a place in the final against Abbey CBS on February 1st.

Scorers for Patrician Academy: Eoin Kelleher 1- 5, Barry O’Shea 0-3 (0-1 free), Charlie Carroll 0-3, Ciaran O’Sullivan 0-1
Colaiste An Spioráid Naomh: Pat O’Neill 1-0, Ivan Quirke 0-3 (0-1 free), Michael Quirke 0-1, Conor McGoldrick 0-1, Conor Dunne 0-1, Simon Collins 0-1

PATRICIAN ACADEMY: Thomas Hickey (Mallow); Kevin Smith (Doneraile), Niall O’Riordan (Mallow), Daniel Sheehan (do); Aidan Bolster (do), Sean Kelly (Clyda Rovers), Kevin O’Mahony (Mallow); Ciaran O’Sullivan (Kilshannig), Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers); David Walsh (do), Barry O’Shea (Kilshannig), Charlie Carroll (Mallow); Eoin Walsh (Clyda Rovers), Tadhg O’Mahony (Knocknagree), Eoin Kelleher (Mallow)
Subs: Jamie O’Keeffe (Mallow) for Tadhg O’Mahony, Brian Cotter (Killavullen) for Eoin Walsh, David Keane (Buttevant) for David Walsh, Garry Deane (Clyda Rovers) for Daniel Sheehan,

COLAISTE AN SPIORÁID NAOMH: Kevin Delaney (Bishopstown); Brian Aherne (do), Colin O’Flynn (Ballinora), Adam Bruton (St. Finbarr’s); Liam Lyons (Ballinora), Nathan Gough (Bishopstown), Cian Barry-Murphy (Ballinhassig); Conor McGoldrick (Eire Og), Rory Fitzpatrick (St. Finbarr’s); Conor Quirke (Ballinora), Simon Collins (Bishopstown), Liam Hogan (do); Conor Dunne (do), Michael Quirke (Ballinora), Evan Forrest (Ballygarvan)
Subs: Ivan Quirke (Ballinora) for Cian Barry-Murphy (inj), Pat O’Neill (Bishopstown) for Evan Forrest, Harry Aherne (Ballincollig) for Liam Lyons, Fin Stephens (Bishopstown) for Rory Fitzpatrick.

Referee: Michael Harrington (Carrigaline)