Main sponsor:

2019 / 2020 Corn Thomáis Mhic Cholaim (Munster Under 19 B Hurling Quarter-Final) – Borrisokane Community College 5-22 Charleville C.B.S. 2-24

Monday 13 January 2020

This was a thrilling Munster Senior B HC quarter final (Corn Thomáis Mhic Cholaim) at Cappamore on Wednesday between Charleville CBS and Borrisokane Community College.

Borrisokane come out on top

Borrisokane Community College 5-22 Charleville C.B.S. 2-24 (After Extra Time)

Report by Paddy Ryan

The sides were level on 8 occasions with the lead changing hands many times. In the second period of extra time, 3 goals in a four minute spell by the North Tipperary side saw them advance to the semi-finals. Cormac O’Brien who accounted for 1-18 of the Charleville tally of 2-24 was the star of the show. Borrisokane opened with an early point by Oisin Larkin.

Cormac O’Brien levelled from a free. Paidi Williams with a free edged the winners ahead after 3 minutes. Michael O’Flynn levelled for the 2nd time at 0-2 each. David O’Sullivan moved Borrisokane ahead again with O’Brien levelling from a free 0-3 each. Paidi Williams and Cormac O’Brien swapped a point after 11 minutes. Borrisokane hit a good patch they had points by Paidi Williams and Colm Fogarty (2) to make it 0-7 to 0-4 after 15 minutes.
Cormac O’Brien (free) and Colm Fogarty exchanged a point before Conor Byrne placed Aidan Ryan for a very good point 0-9 to 0-5. Cormac O’Brien followed with 3 points as Charleville came within the minimum. ‘Borris’ hit a purple patch – Paidi Williams struck a goal and two points in quick succession as they moved 1-11 to 0-8 clear. Paidi Williams landed another point. Charleville kept up the pressure and two points just before half time by Mark O’Riordan and Cormac O’Brien (free) cut the lead at the break 1-12 to 0-10.

Charleville did well on the resumption. Their half backs were very solid. Cormac O’Brien pointed a free and a ’65. Further pressure led to some good points that had the sides deadlocked 1-13 to 0-16 after 40 minutes. Paidi Williams (two frees) edged the winners 1-15 to 0-16 ahead. Good play by Oisin Larkin led to a goal by Colm Fogarty. A long range delivery by Michael Tierney led to a point by Paidi Williams that gave the winners a two goal lead 2-16 to 0-16.

Charleville regrouped well. They moved Pat O’Donovan to midfield with Cormac O’Brien going to the edge of the square. Good play by Cormac O’Brien led to a goal by Michael O’Flynn. Charleville created a number of attacks and Cormac O’Brien with two frees and a ’65 drew level at 2-16 to 1-19. Patrick O’Donovan edged the North Cork side ahead. Good play in injury time by Michael Tierney led to a Conor Ryan point as the sides were level at full time – 1-20 to 2-17.

Charleville CBS did well in early extra time. They had a few wides before Cormac O’Brien gave them the lead with a free. Michael Egan replied from a free as they were level for the 8th and last time. Good play by David Parnjack led to a point by Patrick O’Donovan. Conor Griffin landed a very good point and the Rathluirc side were in a nice position at half time 1-23 to 2-18 clear.

The game turned on its head for Borrisokane on the resumption. They had a first minute goal by David O’Sullivan after good play by Michael Egan and Colm Fogarty. Impressive Conor Ryan followed with a point. The winners had their fourth goal a minute later when Kieran Boyle netted. From the puckout Conor Ryan gained possession and soloed through and goaled as Borrisokane were now 5-19 to 1-23 clear.

They completed their tally with late points by Colm Fogarty, Paidi Williams and Oisin Larkin. Charleville C.B.S. forced a late penalty that Cormac O’Brien converted. The final whistle followed and Borrisokane were victors by a 7 point margin.

Scorers for Borrisokane: Paidi Williams (1-11 (0-8 frees), Colm Fogarty 1-4, Conor Ryan 1-2, David O’Sullivan 1-1, Kieran Boyle 1-0, Oisin Larkin 0-2, Aidan Ryan 0-1, Michael Egan 0-1 free.
Charleville: Cormac O’Brien 1-18 (0-13 frees, 1-0 penalty, 0-2 ’65s) Michael O’Flynn 1-1, Pat O’Donovan 0-2, Mark O’Riordan 0-2, Conor Griffin 0-1.

BORRISOKANE COMMUNITY COLLEGE: Neil Cahalan (Kiladangan); Oisin McMahon (Shannon Rovers), Conor Culhane (Kiladangan), Cathal McGrath (do); Darragh Ryan (do), Michael Tierney (Shannon Rovers), Jack O’Mahony (Borrisokane); Conor Byrne (Kiladangan), Conor Ryan (Borrisokane); David O’Sullivan (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Paudie Williams (do), Aidan Ryan (Kiladangan); Colm Fogarty (Lorrha), Matthew Myles (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Oisin Larkin (Borrisokane)
Subs: Michael Egan (Knockshegowna) for Aidan Ryan, Kevin Cleary (Borrisokane) for Oisin McMahon, Kieran Boyle (Toomevara) for Matthew Myles

CHARLEVILLE CBS: Conor Reynolds (Charleville); Sam Williams (Bruree), Ben Herlihy (Castletown Ballyagran), Killian Cagney (Charleville); Odhran O’Connell (do), Fergal O’Connor (Effin), David Parnjack (Charleville); Michael O’Flynn (Milford), Cormac O’Brien (Newtownshandrum); Conor Griffin (do), Sam Cronnolly (Bruree), David Forde (Charleville); Ronan Geary (Newtownshandrum), Pat O’Donovan (Effin), Mark O’Riordan (Castletown Ballyagran)
Subs: Brian Forde (Charleville) for Sam Williams, Ben Pilis (Newtownshandrum) for Odhran O’Connell, Sam Williams (Bruree) for Mark O’Riordan, Mark O’Riordan (Castletown Ballyagran for Conor Griffin, Odhran O’Connell (Charleville) for Michael O’Flynn, Michael O’Flynn (Milford) for Odhran O’Connell (inj)

Referee: Eamonn Stapleton (Doon)