Main sponsor:

13th November 2021

St. Flannans Ennis defeated Ardscoil Ris Limerick by 3-16 to 0-16 in the Dean Ryan Cup Under 16.5 A Hurling Final on Wednesday November 17th at the TUS Gaelic Grounds.

St Flannan’s clinch Dean Ryan Cup with late goal burst

Report by Brendan Buckley for the Irish Examiner newspaper

St Flannan’s, Ennis 3-16 Ardscoil Rís, Limerick 0-16

Three goals in the final quarter helped St Flannan’s to return a 13th Dean Ryan Cup title to the Ennis secondary school.

The Clare side had one point to spare at the second-half water break in TUS Gaelic Grounds but then goals from Oisin Whelan, Luca Cleary, and Dylan Keane Hayes saw off the challenge of Limerick’s Ardscoil Rís.

This was the first Munster Post Primary Schools U16½A hurling crown for Flannan’s since 2011.

Ardscoil Rís were backed by a gentle breeze in the opening half and were two points clear at the break.

The Limerick city side had points from Danny Chaplin, Fionn O’Brien, and Sean Duff for a 0-5 to 0-2 advantage at the first half water break.

Whelan frees and scores from Eoin Kennedy and Michael Power saw St Flannan’s battle back to leave it 0-8 to 0-6 at the interval.

Four unanswered points from the off in the second half turned the momentum towards the Clare school.

Undeterred Marc O’Brien and Chaplin scores had Ardscoil Rís level for a fifth and final time at 0-11 each on 44 minutes.

Whelan edged St Flannan’s a point clear at the second-half water break and then they raced towards the winning line in the final quarter.

Whelan had their first goal just on the restart and they were soon 1-15 to 0-12 clear.

Cleary added another in the 55th minute and captain Keane Hayes sealed the win in injury time for a St Flannan’s side that had Clare hurling heroes Jamesie O’Connor and Tony Kelly among its management team.

Scorers for St Flannan’s: O Whelan (1-8, 6f), D Keane Hayes (1-1), L Cleary (1-0), F Hegarty (0-2), E Kennedy, M Power, J Hegarty, T Boddy, J Mescall (0-1 each).

Scorers for Ardscoil Rís: D Chaplin (0-7, 6f), S Arther (0-3, 3f), F O’Brien, E Begley (0-2 each), S Duff, M O’Brien (0-1 each).

ST FLANNAN’S: C Howard; J Casey, F O’Braoin, P Nagle; T Collins, J Hegarty, R Kilroy; D Keane Hayes, E Kennedy; M O’Connor, F Hegarty, J Mescall; M Power, O Whelan, L Cleary.
Subs: S Scanlon for O’Connor (36), K McDonnell for M Power (42), T Boddy for Kennedy (48), E Price for Nagle (60).

ARDSCOIL RÍS: J O’Connor; J Finn, J Moylan, J O’Keeffe; S Duff, S McNamara, D Horkan; M O’Halloran, F Fitzgerald; N Liddane, D Stritch, F O’Brien; M O’Brien, D Chaplin, E Begley.
Subs: S Arthur for Liddane (36), P Kearney for Chaplin (53), D Gleeson for Begley (58).

REFEREE: T McGrath (Tipperary).

Ticket Information

Please note that all tickets for this game must be purchased online and there will be no ticket sales at the ground.

Adult General Admission – €5
2nd & 3rd Level Students/ OAP’s – €3

Click here to purchase tickets

Match Streaming – 5 euro

Wednesday’s game will be streamed live by Clubber at a cost of 5 euro – follow the instructions below to sign-up to view the stream of the game.

Go to and click ‘sign-up’ on main screen. Select your school or your local club (or both) and complete the sign-up steps.

You then click on the email verification link that gets sent to your email address (check junk mail). This takes you to the login screen, where you put in the email and password that you used for sign-up.

Once you click on the game (St. Flannans v Ardscoil Ris), you will be asked to input your credit card details to pay for the game.

Coverage will begin 20 minutes before throw-in and we recommend you get setup and pay for the game in advance to avoid delays.

If you have any questions or problems, email and their team will look after you.

Team Sheets

Paths to the Final

Ardscoil Ris Limerick
Q-Final – Ardscoil Ris Limerick 1-18 CBC 1-9
S-Final – Ardscoil Ris Limerick 2-19 St. Colmans Fermoy 1-10

St. Flannans Ennis
Q-Final – St. Flannans Ennis 1-19 Midleton CBS 1-11
S-Final – St. Flannans Ennis 1-23 De La Salle Waterford 0-16

Dean Ryan Cup Roll of Honour

Posted in: News

Date: 13th November 2021