Main sponsor:

18th September 2023

The opening round of the TUS Munster Post Primary Schools GAA Dean Ryan Cup Under 17 A Hurling competition took place on Wednesday September 20th.

For the first season, the Dean Ryan Cup (and all other Munster Junior competitions) will be contested by Under 17s as opposed to the Under 16.5 age group as was the case before a change was voted in by schools last May.

The tie of the round is the repeat of the 2022/2023 Dean Ryan Cup Final between defending champions Ardscoil Ris and Thurles CBS. When the schools met last November in front of a bumper crowd at MacDonagh Park Nenagh, the Limerick school won out by 3-19 to 1-23 after a thrilling contest (Match Report).

Round 1 Results

Wednesday September 20th

Ardscoil Ris 1-23 Thurles CBS 0-24 (after extra time)
St Flannans 2-20 St Colmans Fermoy 0-12
Midleton CBS 1-31 St Francis College Rochestown 0-8
St Josephs Tulla 2-17 CBC Cork 2-12

Quarter-Finals – Scheduled for Wednesday October 4th

Ardscoil Ris V St Flannans
Midleton CBS V St Josephs Tulla
Rice College Ennis V Nenagh CBS
Our Ladys Templemore V De La Salle College Waterford

Semi-Finals – Scheduled for Wednesday October 18th

Final – Scheduled for Wednesday November 8th

Dean Ryan Cup Roll of Honour