Main sponsor:

13th March 2024

St. Mary’s Newport (Tipperary) defeated Coláiste Éinde (Galway) by 6-17 to 1-7 in the Masita All-Ireland Post Primary Schools Niall McInerney Cup (Senior D Hurling) Final on Saturday March 16th at Tulla, Co. Clare.

Flying Flanagan leads Newport to All Ireland title at the expense of Colaiste Einde Galway

All Ireland Senior D hurling final

St Mary’s, Newport 6-17 Colaiste Einde, Galway 1-7

Report by Michael O’Connor for the Irish Examiner newspaper

A whirlwind start for Munster champions St Mary’s Newport that produced (2-3) in the opening ten minutes was the foundation that saw the Niall McInerney cup make its way to Newport on Saturday afternoon after they overcome Colaiste Einde from Galway city.

A four goal salvo from joint captain Shane Flanagan, who was well supported by colleagues Brian Tobin, Tommy Cusack and Darren Collophy, were the key reasons for Colaiste Einde’s inability to bridge the scoring gap between the two sides.

Darren Collopy and Shane Flanagan in the fifth and ninth minutes respectively were the Newport goalscorers while Cillian Collins (2) and Brian Tobin were the point scorers and Cian Corcoran was the sole scoring threat from frees in the opening 20 minutes for Colaiste Einde.

After 25 minutes Colaiste Einde had stifled the Newport attack but could not hit the goals their challenge really needed to back up their effort as Newport led 2-6 to 0-5.

The final five minutes of the opening half witnessed four further Newport scores from Tommy Cusack (2), Cillian Collins and Brian Tobin to hold a commanding 2-10 to 0-5 half time advantage.

The physical power of Colaiste Einde, possessed by the Walshs up front, was of no real advantage as the pace and first touch of Newport ensured no let up to the pressure on the Colaiste Einde defence.

Cian Corcoran had the opening score of the second period before Callum Poole and Cillian Collins set up Shane Flanagan for his side’s third goal after 34 minutes.

Evan Duffy in the Newport goal had to be smart to clear off his line after 39 minutes as did Jason McDonagh in the Colaiste Einde goal minutes later. Once more Evan Duffy pulled off a brilliant double save from Colaiste Einde as the Galway side were now attacking with ferocity but tagging on no scores.

Newport, from a Darren Collopy penalty goal and a fifth goal from Brian Tobin, secured the title for Newport with 13 minutes remaining as Shane Flanagan rounded off his personal heroics with a fourth goal near the full time whistle to set off scenes of great celebration for the Tipperary school.

Scorers for St Mary’s Newport: S Flanagan (4-0), B Tobin (1-4), D Collopy (1-3, 3fs), C Collins , D Ryan (0-3 each), Tommy Cusack (0-2), Jamie Long, Callum Poole (0-1 each).

Scorers for Colaiste Einde: Cian Corcoran (0-6, 4fs, 1 65), Jason Carr (1-0), Cian Cloherty (0-1).

St Mary’s Newport: E Duffy (Murroe Boher); J Anderson (Ballinainch), C Hannon (Newport) K Hogan (Newport); D Meaney (Newport), C Kennedy (Sean Treacys), J Tobin (Newport); D Ryan (Newport), J Long (Murroe Boher); T Cusack (Murroe Boher), B Tobin (Newport), D Collopy (Murroe Boher); S Flanagan (Newport), C Collins (Newport), C Poole (Newport).
Subs: C Sheridan (Murroe Boher) for Long, D Whelan (Newport) for Cusack, E Flynn (Newport) for Hogan, L Kennedy (Newport) for Collins, D Cantillon (Newport) for Poole.

Colaiste Einde: J McDonagh (Liam Mellows); S Keane (Rahoon Newcastle), E Hynes (Liam Mellows), D Carr (Rahoon Newcastle); J Nolan (Moycullen), L Sampson-Daly (Rahoon Newcastle), D O’Brien (Liam Mellows); A Keane (Rahoon Newcastle), C Cloherty (Rahoon Newcastle); E Coddey (Rahoon Newcastle), C Corcoran (Castlegar), C Cloherty (Rahoon Newcastle); J Carr (Ardrahan), D Walsh (Moycullen) D Finnerty (Liam Mellows).
Subs: C O’ Donohue (Rahoon Newcastle) for D Walsh, M Brosnan (Salthill Knocknacarra) for Finnerty, C Cloherty (Rahoon Newcastle) for Keane, B Magee (Moycullen) for Carr, C Madden (Rahoon Newcastle) for Coffey.

Referee: Aaron Hogg (Clare).

Ticket Information

Click here to buy tickets

Live Streaming – Watch the Game Live

Posted in: News

Date: 13th March 2024