Main sponsor:

1st December 2016

Mitchelstown CBS edge out Tulla in Munster BHC

Mitchelstown CBS 2-15 St Joseph’s Tulla 1–15

Report by Paddy Ryan

Mitchelstown CBS were forced to withstand a spirited second half revival by St Joseph’s Tulla in the Munster Senior Colleges B HC quarter final at Rathkeale on Wednesday.

In a highly entertaining contest the Clare outfit certainly had the better start with Killian Nugent (2) and Sean Murphy reeling off points that moved them into a 0-3 to 0-1 lead by the sixth minute. Over the next couple of minutes there was a shootout between free takers George Pendle and Killian Nugent as Tulla maintained a two point cushion. However as the half went on Mitchelstown CBS who were beaten in last years final by Abbey CBS quickly settled. Paudie McGrath and P.J and James thundering into the contest in the half backline while at the otherend Dylan Kent, George Pendle, Cathal O’Mahony, Mark Keane and Cathal Harrington all featured very strongly.

At the end of the first quarter Mitchelstown CBS struck for the games opening goal when Cathal O’Mahony was upended in the square and a penalty awarded that was billowed to the net by James Keating and it helped the Cork side move into a 1-7 to 0-7 lead by the 24th minute. Just before the break the winners stretched their lead when a good delivery by Dylan Kent produced a goal by Cathal O’Mahony as they held a 2-8 to 0-8 lead at the short whistle.

On the changeover despite both teams trading rapid scores courtesy of Killian Nugent (2) George Pendle and Mark Keane to make it 2-10 to 0-10 it was St Joseph’s that enjoyed their best spell for the rest of the third quarter with Darragh Whelan, Eanna McMahon, Cian Keogh, Killian Nugent, David Meehan and Sean Murphy playing leading roles in their fightback. The Clare side scored the next 1-3 in a ten minute spell to force parity at 2-10 to 1-13, the goal coming when the impressive Killian Nugent made no mistake from a penalty.

With a place in the semi final at stake both teams battled hard for supremacy. They were level again at 2-11 to 1-14 when James Keating and Killian Nugent traded a point. Moments later Mitchelstown hit the front when George Pendle scored a great point from a very tight angle and it was followed with a point each by corner forwards Cathal O’Mahony and Tomas Vaughan as they opened up a three point cushion by the 56th minute. St Joseph’s tried hard to get back on terms but some solid defending by James Keating and Lorcan Finn in the Mitchelstown defence kept them at bay.

In the closing moments both teams swopped another point through Fergal Kearney and George Pendle. In injury time St Joseph’s forced a sideline. The sideline cut by Killian Nugent struck the Mitchelstown CBS crossbar and was cleared to safety. This was greeted by the final whistle with Mitchelstown CBS holding out for a close but deserved win.

Scorers for Mitchelstown CBS : George Pendle 0-8 (0-4f) James Keating 1-2 (1-0 pen, 0-1f) Cathal O’Mahony 1-1, Mark Keane 0-3, Tom Vaughan 0-1.

St Joseph’s Tulla ; Killian Nugent 1-11 (0-9f, 1-0 pen) Sean Murphy
0-1, Conor Murphy 0-1, Cian Mulqueen 0-1, Fergal Kearney 0-1.

MITCHELSTOWN CBS : Ian Butler (Kildorrery) Tony Watson (do) Lorcan Finn (Ballygiblin) Kieran Fox (do) P.J. Keating (Kildorrery) James Keating (do) Paudie McGrath (Galtee Gaels) Dylan Kent (Kildorrery) Shane Doyle (Ballygiblin) Cathal Harrington (Kildorrery) George Pendle (Ballygiblin) Josh Macken (Skeheenarinky) Cathal O’Mahony (Ballygiblin) Mark Keane (do) Tomas Vaughan (Skeheenarinky)
Subs: Oisin Brennan (Skeheenarinky) for Tony Watson, Danny Keane (Ballygiblin) for Shane Doyle (inj)

ST JOSEPH’S : Fiachra Donnellan (Feakle) Sean O’Callaghan (Tulla) Darragh Whelan (Broadford) Ronan Kelly (O’Callaghan Mills) Fergal Kearney (Tulla) Eanna McMahon (Feakle) Cian Keogh (Clooney-Quin) David Meehan (Tulla) Sean Murphy (O’Callaghan Mills) Callum Noonan (Tulla) Ronan Molloy (do) Sean Cahill (do) Aaron O’Halloran (do) Killian Nugent (O’Callaghan Mills) Conor Murphy (Tulla)
Subs: Liam Hogan (Feakle) for Callum Noonan, Cian Mulqueen (Broadford) for Aaron O’Halloran,

Referee: John Paul Kiely (Shamrock Gaels)

Posted in: News

Date: 01st December 2016