Main sponsor:

11th January 2017

St Colman’s progress to semis in Harty Cup

Report By Denis Hurley for the Irish Examiner newspaper

St Colman’s made the use of the elements as three first-half goals provided the platform for victory in this Dr Harty Cup quarter-final at Church Road in Blackrock on Wednesday.

St Colman’s College, Fermoy … 3-12; CBC, Cork … 1-12

Having scored the first three points, Colman’s surged clear when Barry Murphy scored a fine goal and Brian Roche was on hand to make it 2-4 to 0-1 on 17 minutes.

Conleth Ryan followed immediately with a third goal while Jamie Sheehan and Shane Ryan added points as they retired at half-time with a 3-7 to 0-1 lead.

Tommy O’Connell’s free-taking, allied to scores from Declan O’Hanlon, allowed CBC to eat into the lead in the second half, with Roche getting Colman’s only score of the third quarter. When CBC sub Jamie Corkery pointed soon after his introduction, it was 3-10 to 0-11 and the same player went close to a goal but his shot flew across goal and wide.

Diarmuid Lenihan and Murphy settled Colman’s with late points, meaning Eoin Moloney’s late goal for CBC was just a consolation.

Scorers for St Colman’s College: B Murphy (1-3), B Roche (1-2), D Lenihan (0-4, frees), J Sheehan (0-3), C Ryan (1-0).

Scorers for CBC: T O’Connell (0-5, frees), D O’Hanlon (0-4), E Moloney (1-0), J Twomey, D McBarron, J Corkery (0-1 each).

ST COLMAN’S COLLEGE: E Davis (St Catherine’s); E Wallace (St Catherine’s), J O’Leary (Castlelyons), K Neville (St Catherine’s); S McCarthy (Fermoy), N O’Leary (Castlelyons), E Roche (Bride Rovers); S O’Connor (Bride Rovers), D Lenihan (Ballyhooly); J Sheehan (Kilworth), B Murphy (Castlelyons), D Lardner (Fermoy); C Ryan (Bride Rovers), B Roche (Bride Rovers), A Creed (Fermoy)
Subs: E Carey (Kilworth) for Creed (48), F Hickey (Ballyduff Upper, Waterford) for Lardner (55, injured), S Kenny (Ballyduff Upper, Waterford) for Murphy (60, injured).

CBC: D Heffernan (Mallow); C Barrett (St Finbarr’s), C Power (Blarney), A Cronin (Glen Rovers); B Keohane (Ballincollig), E Moloney (Midleton), C Flynn (Na Piarsaigh); M Walsh (Cloughduv), S Finn (Midleton); J Twomey (Kilshanning), D O’Hanlon (Blarney), C Murphy (Na Piarsaigh); T O’Connell (Midleton), R Downey (Glen Rovers), E McCarthy (Inniscarra)
Subs: J Corkery (Glen Rovers) for McCarthy (36), D McBarron (Carrigaline) for Murphy (43), C McNamara (Erin’s Own) for Power (51).

Referee: D Kirwan (Éire Óg)

When – Wednesday January 11th at 1:30pm
Where – Church Rd, Blackrock
Referee – Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork)
Next Round – The winners will play the winners of Árdscoil Rís Limerick and CBS Midleton in the Semi-Final on Saturday January 28th.

Admission Prices
Adults – €5
Students / OAP’s – €3

Results to Date

Christian Brothers College, Cork
Last 16 – CBC, Cork 3-18 St. Francis College Rochestown 3-12
Group A Round 3 – Scoil Na Trioniode Doon 0-12 Christian Brothers College, Cork 0-10
Group A Round 1 – Christian Brothers College, Cork 4-17 Coláiste Iosaef, Kilmallock 1-13

Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy
Last 16 – Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 4-22 St Flannans 2-19 (AET)
Group E – Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 2-15 CBS Midleton 1-14

Match Preview

The all Cork clash of St. Colmans Fermoy and CBC Cork will be eagerly anticipated on Leeside. St. Colmans began their campaign on a positive note with a come from behind 2-15 to 1-14 victory over CBS Midleton when scoring 1-6 without reply to finish the game saw them emerge as Group E winners. A semi-final meeting with old rivals St. Flannans awaited and what a game this turned out to be. A Brian Roche goal helped Colmans in to a 1-8 to 0-8 half-time lead. A Barry Murphy goal early in the second half put Colmans seven points up but this game was not over. St. Flannans assumed control for much of the remainder of the second half, outscoring Colmans by 2-5 to 0-1 to put the Clare side three points in front. Deep in to injury time however, a Diarmuid Lenihan free for Colmans seemed to take a deflection through a mass of bodies in front of goal and find the net to force extra time. St. Colmans would run out comprehensive nine point winners in extra time with Barry Murphy adding his second goal.

CBC Cork have played three games to date. In their opening match, CBC scored two early goals and led Coláiste Iosaef, Kilmallock by 2-11 to 0-7 at the interval before going on to record a 13 point victory. Their next game would ultimately decide the Group A winners and after a low scoring game, Scoil Na Trioniode Doon ran out two point winners to consign CBC to the runners-up spot and a meeting with St. Francis College Rochestown. CBC did not start well and trailed by five points approaching the interval before a Tommy O’Connell goal left Rochestown just two points in front at half-time. CBC drew level in the 38th minute before completely taking over the game, outscoring Rochestown by 2-9 to 0-1 over the next 15 minutes. CBC led by 14 points heading in the final stages only to concede three late goals but it was too little, too late and CBC qualified for the Quarter-Final with six points to spare.

Diarmuid Kirwan will take the whistle for this game in Church Road Blackrock with a 1:30pm throw-in on Wednesday.

Posted in: News

Date: 11th January 2017