Main sponsor:

11th January 2017

Morris gets Nenagh over the line in Harty Cup

Report by Tomás McCarthy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Tipperary All Ireland minor winner Jake Morris hit three extra time points as Nenagh CBS progressed to the last four of the Harty Cup at a breezy Cashel this afternoon.

Harty Cup Quarter Final

Nenagh CBS 0-20 De La Salle College 2-13 (AET)

De La Salle, inspired by captain Thomas Douglas, rallied from eight points behind to edge 2-11 to 0-16 in front on 55 minutes. Nenagh substitute Kevin McCarthy forced an additional twenty with a stoppage time equaliser.

Nenagh chose to play with the stiff breeze for the opening half and powered 0-9 to 0-1 ahead after sixteen minutes. Centre back Morris contributed three while Mark Daniels and Jerome Cahill added two each. A Douglas strike after 21 minutes left just five between them at the interval (0-11 to 1-3).

The Blues started the second period with white flags through corner forwards Ruairi Maher and Bryan McLoughney. Wind assisted Salle retaliated. Douglas brushed off three Nenagh defenders to find the net again on 35 minutes. Darragh Walsh put Dermot Dooley’s team a point clear before McCarthy pegged them back.

Scorers for Nenagh CBS: J Morris 0-6 (5fs); M Daniels 0-5 (4fs); J Cahill, B McLoughney, B Seymour 0-2 each; K McCarthy, E Power, R Maher 0-1 each.

Scorers for De La Salle College: T Douglas 2-4; H Ruddle Redmond (2fs), D Walsh 0-3 each; C Giles Doran, C Wadding, C Power 0-1 each.

Nenagh CBS: B Hogan (Kiladangan); C O’Brien (Portroe), D Molloy (Kiladangan), J Maloney (Portroe); C Morgan (Kilruane McDonaghs), J Morris (Nenagh Eire Og), C Kelly (Kiladangan); J Cahill (Kilruane McDonaghs), S Kirwan (Burgess); C McCarthy (Nenagh Eire Og); M Daniels (Silvermines), B Seymour (Kiladangan); R Maher (Silvermines), E Power (Silvermines), B McLoughney (Kiladangan)
Subs: K McCarthy (Toomevara) for Seymour (H-T); M O’Neill (Kilruane McDonaghs) for O’Brien (40); B Seymour for Maher (46); A O’Flaherty (Burgess) for Power (58); D Ryan (Silvermines) for Molloy (76); C O’Brien for Kirwan (80).

De La Salle College: S O’Brien (De La Salle); C Ryan (Roanmore), D Hogan (Ballygunner), S Kennedy (Ballygunner); J Troy (Ballygunner), S Flynn (De La Salle), T Foley (Ballygunner); C Giles Doran (De La Salle), D Walsh (Piltown); C Wadding (Roanmore), S Carton (De La Salle), M Hutchinson (Passage); D Finn (De La Salle), T Douglas (De La Salle), H Ruddle Redmond (Ballygunner)
Subs: K Hennessy (De La Salle) for Hutchinson (35); F Lawrence (Mooncoin) for Finn (59); R Croke (Mooncoin) for Carton (59); D Finn for Lawrence (60); S Carton for Croke (60); C Power for Finn (63).

Referee: D Fox (Clare)

When – Wednesday January 11th at 1:30pm
Where – Leahy Park Cashel
Referee – Damien Fox (Clare)
Next Round – Nenagh CBS v Our Lady’s Templemore in the Semi-Final on Saturday January 28th.

Admission Prices
Adults – €5
Students / OAP’s – €3

Results to Date

De La Salle Waterford
Last 16 – De La Salle College Waterford 1-18 Blackwater CS 0-16 (AET)
Group B Round 3 – De La Salle College Waterford 1-13 Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG 2-10
Group B Round 1 – Thurles C.B.S. 3-17 De La Salle College Waterford 1-8

Nenagh CBS
Last 16 – Nenagh C.B.S 1-20 Castletroy CC 1-13
Group H – Nenagh C.B.S. 1-22 Abbey C.B.S. 2-16 (AET)

Match Preview

The meeting of De La Salle and Nenagh CBS is a repeat of the Quarter-Final pairing in last year’s Dr. Harty Cup. On that occasion, Nenagh came in to the game as favourites after dethroning the then defending champions Thurles CBS but it was De La Salle who were the more impressive, winning by 0-13 to 0-10 in a close encounter at Kilmallock. The teams were level at 0-5 apiece at the interval before a strong second half performance from De La Salle ensured victory. De La Salle lost out to Our Lady’s Templemore after extra time in the semi-final.

On to this year’s competition and De La Salle had a disappointing second half performance against Thurles CBS, surrendering a five point lead to lose by 15 points. In their next game, De La Salle only needed a draw against Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG to qualify for the Last 16 on score difference and that is exactly what the Waterford school earned in a game which could have gone either way in an exciting finish. And so on to the Last 16 where Blackwater CS were favourites to progress having won Group C and everything was going to script as they led by four points entering the last five minutes of normal time. However, De La Salle didn’t give up and an injury time goal by substitute Kevin Hennessy forced the sides to extra time where De La Salle would run out winners by five points. Harry Ruddle Redmond accounted for 11 of De La Salle’s 1-18 tally on the day. Interestingly, De La Salle have qualified for the Quarter-Finals without winning any of their three games in normal time.

For Nenagh CBS, a meeting with last year’s Munster and All-Ireland B Champions Abbey CBS to decide on the winners of Group H took place in Newport. In a close game all through, the sides were level at half-time and the end of normal time before Nenagh eventually got their noses in front to secure a three point victory after extra time. Nenagh would take on Castletroy College in the Last 16. Nenagh led by a point after a close opening half. Nenagh threatened to pull away early in the second half but five unanswered points from Castletroy left a point in it entering the final quarter. Nenagh worked their way in to a four point lead entering the final stages before a Conor McCarthy goal for the Tipperary school ensured a seven point victory.

Nenagh will look to All-Ireland Minor winners Jake Morris and Jerome Cahill to reverse last year’s result at this stage but De La Salle will certainly look to reaffirm their superiority and qualify again for the semi-finals.

Clare’s Damien Fox is in charge of this game with a 1:30pm throw-in at Leahy Park Cashel on Wednesday.

Posted in: News

Date: 11th January 2017