Main sponsor:

18th October 2017

Dean Ryan Cup Under 16.5 A Hurling Semi-Final

Thurles CBS 5-18 John the Baptist Hospital 0-8

Report by Ed Donnelly

Thurles CBS qualified for their second Dean Ryan Cup final in succession courtesy of a comprehensive 25-point victory over John the Baptist Hospital at Dundrum on Wednesday.

Both schools lost out to the eventual 2016/2017 champions St. Colman’s Fermoy last year, Hospital in the semi-final and Thurles after a final replay. Thurles CBS have already exacted a measure of revenge following their victory over the Fermoy school in the Quarter-Final and on this occasion, after a less than impressive first half performance, the Tipperary based school managed four second half goals to run out decisive winners over Hospital.

Click here to view photos from the match

The opening quarter gave little indication of the one-sided affair which was to follow as the sides were level after 15 minutes. Jack Lanigan (two frees) and Darren Flood scored points for Thurles CBS while Aidan O’Heney (free), Jake Kennedy and Darragh Butler raised white flags for Hospital. During this period, the Thurles forwards were over-elaborating in possession while Hospital’s forwards were guilty of some poor shooting, chalking up six first half wides and dropping a few balls short.

Thurles added two further Jack Lanigan points (1 free) before the opening goal arrived in the 23rd minute. Chris Monroe’s attempt at a point dipped at the last minute and deceived the Hospital goalkeeper and ended up in the net. Thurles quickly added points from Jack Lanigan and Paddy Creedon (2) and by the interval, Thurles led by 1-8 to 0-3.

John the Baptist Hospital required a good start after the break but instead it was Thurles who quickly put the result beyond doubt with goals by Darren Flood and Jack Lanigan in the first three minutes of the second half. The game was now well and truly over as a contest allowing both schools to ring the changes. The Thurles domination continued however and with the Hospital side failing to score from open play in the second half, it was a case of how much Thurles would end up winning by. In the closing stages, Darren Flood added his second goal while Devon Ryan chipped in with 1-2 to ensure Thurles qualified for the final in impressive fashion, 5-18 to 0-8.

Thurles CBS: James O’Dwyer; AJ Shanahan, Conor Stapleton, Martin Paul Dwyer; Kevin Hayes, Frank Hanafin, Kieran Costello; Ed Connolly (0-1), Ryan Walsh; Eoin Purcell (0-2), Jack Lanigan (1-9, 0-5 frees), Chris Monroe (1-0); Devon Ryan (1-2), Darren Flood (2-2), Paddy Creedon (0-2)
Subs: Kieran Lloyd, Jack Lillis, Jack Leamy, Kyle Ryan, Robert Doyle

John the Baptist Hospital: Jack Franklin; Steven O’Donnell, Aiden McNamara, Rory Hannon; Michael O’Donnell, Patrick Byrne, Killian O’Shea; Ethan Dorney, Jake Kennedy (0-1); Pa Reale, Michael Martin, James Halvey; Aidan O’Heney (0-3 frees), Darragh McAuley (0-3 frees), Darragh Butler (0-1)
Subs: Sean Connaughton, Peter O’Dwyer, Paddy Kennedy

Referee: Fergal Horgan

Posted in: News

Date: 18th October 2017