Main sponsor:

23rd February 2019

Corn Sheáinmhic Mhurchidh (Under 19 C Football) Final

Patrician Academy take Munster Senior C Football title

Patrician Academy (Mallow) 4-13 St. Augustine’s (Dungarvan) 2-8

Report by Paddy Ryan

A well-balanced Patrician Academy (Mallow) were well on top in this Munster Post Primary Schools Senior C Football Final at Ballyporeen on Saturday. The winners had the aid of the stiff breeze in the opening half. Academy had early points by Conor Corbett, Kieran Twomey (free) and Barry O’Shea after good work by Kieran Twomey. Rian Hogan kicked two rapid pointed frees for Dungarvan. In the 15th minute, Eanna O’Hanlon with a free edged the Mallow side 0-4 to 0-2 clear. A foul on the impressive Barry O’Shea led to another Eanna O’Hanlon pointed free. St. Augustine’s had a goal in the 23rd minute when Sean Walsh worked well for Jack Ó Floinn who cut through and netted from close range as the sides were level 0-5 to 1-2. Academy finished the half well. They were impressive in midfield and their attack worked some good movements. Conor Corbett pointed and Kieran Twomey followed with a pointed free. In the 27th minute, a foul on Conor McMahon led to another pointed free by O’Hanlon. In injury time a foul on Conor McMahon led to a penalty that Eanna O’Hanlon converted and the Mallow side were 1-8 to 1-2 clear at the break.

Academy had a dream start on the resumption. From the throw in good play by Kieran Twomey to Conor Corbett led to a well taken goal by Barry O’Shea as the Academy moved 2-8 to 1-2 clear. Barry O’Shea pointed after good play by Jack Dillon, David Walsh and Colm O’Shea. St. Augustine’s made a good recovery. Sam Fitzgerald worked well for Jack Ó Floinn who pointed with Rian Hogan following with a free. At the end of the third quarter, the lead was down to 7 points when John Devine kicked a great point. Academy followed with a point when Jack Hadden and Conor McMahon set up Conor Corbett who pointed as Mallow led double scores – 2-10 to 1-5.

The West Waterford side battled hard against the odds and they had 3 points in succession by Rian Hogan (2 frees) and Daithi Brunnock – 2-10 to 1-8. Mallow regrouped well with the defence very solid. Kieran Twomey pointed a ’45 and Barry O’Shea had his second goal after being put through by Kieran Twomey and Conor McMahon 3-11 to 1-8. Eanna O’Hanlon followed with a pointed free. In the closing moments a close in free for Dungarvan by Jack Ó Floinn went in off the crossbar. It was only a consolation score as Academy were still well ahead 3-12 to 2-8. In injury time, Academy had their fourth goal when Sean Kelly and Barry O’Shea combined for Ben O’Connor who goaled. Kieran Twomey pointed a free deep in injury time. Academy emerged easy victors and they will face the Leinster champions in the All-Ireland semi-final on March 9th.

After the game, Neilius O’Murchu presented the Sean Ó Murchú cup to the winning captain Kieran Twomey in the presence of Declan Fitzgerald, Post Primary Schools Board.

Scorers for Patrician Academy: Barry O’Shea 2-2, Eanna O’Hanlon 1-4 (0-4 frees, 1-0 penalty), Kieran Twomey 0-4 (0-3 frees, 0-1 ’45), Conor Corbett 0-3 and Ben O’Connor 1-0.
St. Augustine’s: Jack Ó Floinn 2-1 (1-0 free), Rian Hogan 0-5 free, John Devine 0-1 and Daithi Brunnock 0-1.

PATRICIAN ACADEMY: Josh Murphy (Mallow); Jack Hadden (do), Niall O’Riordan (do), Oisin Carroll (do); Brian O’Sullivan (Castlemagner), Colm O’Shea (Kilshannig), Shane Merritt (Mallow); Eanna O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), Kieran Twomey (Captain, do); Eoin Kelleher (Mallow), Barry O’Shea (Kilshannig), Jack Dillon (Mallow); Ciaran O’Sullivan (Kilshannig), Conor McMahon (do), Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers)
Subs: David Walsh (Clyda Rovers) for Eoin Kelleher, Ben O’Connor (Clyda Rovers) for Ciaran O’Sullivan, Charlie Carroll (Mallow) for Conor McMahon, Sean Kelly (Clyda Rovers) for Oisin Carroll.

ST. AUGUSTINE’S: Philip Dunwoody (Kilrossanty); Colin Foley (Ballinacourty), Jack Keane (Ardmore), Liam Fennell (Stradbally); Patrick Fitzgerald (Ballinacourty), John Devine (Modeligo), Jake Moore (Ballinacourty); Henry Griffin (Ballinameela), Sam Fitzgerald (Clashmore); Daithi Brunnock (Ballinacourty), Jack Ó Floinn (An Gaeltacht), Rian Hogan (Kilrossanty); Sean Walsh (The Nire), Ciaran Keating (Ardmore), Eoin Aherne (Ballinacourty)
Subs: Sean Kent (Ballinacourty) for Jake Moore, Cian Geary (St. Patrick’s) for Eoin Aherne, Johnny Burke (Dungarvan) for Ciaran Keating, Michael Flynn (An Gaeltacht) for Henry Griffin).

Referee: John Butler (Tipperary)

Posted in: News

Date: 23rd February 2019