Main sponsor:

13th January 2020

The 11th of December 2019, marked the Corn an Dara Uí Dhonabháin Munster Under 16.5 C Hurling Final meeting of St. Augustine’s College and Ennistymon CBS in Cappamore, Limerick.

Corn an Dara Uí Dhonabháin Munster Under 16.5 C Hurling Final

Historic Win for St Augustine’s

St Augustine’s College 4-14 Ennistymon CBS 0-17

Emma Burns, Eva Morrissey, Ellen Power, Kaia McGovern (Reporting)

The Friary boys got off to a great start as a puck out from goalie David Byrne was plucked from the sky by club mate Conor Kent, who drove a high ball into Brayden Dee Carter who then finished it with an unstoppable strike leaving the ball in the back of the net. This gave the boys early confidence to drive on.

Having exchanged points, the Ennistymon boys clawed their way back into the game with the help of a number of frees from difficult angles by the Ennistymon Number 11 bringing the score line to 1-3 to 0-7. At the 25th minute Cian Gleeson made a close shot at goal but the effort was denied by the keeper who deflected the ball over the bar. After a tight first half, the score line read 1-7 to 0-11 in favour of Ennistymon. All 11 points came from placed balls aided by the wind. We knew the second half would be a tough battle.

Ennistymon hit two early points just after the throw in but aided with a strong wind in blustery conditions, the Friary boys were back on form to make it level in the first 10 minutes, 1-10 to 0-13. An inspirational point by Mikey Mullaney near the side line after he drove up the pitch from centre back, lifted the crowd and was the turning point of the match.

In the 50th minute Seanie Callaghan carried the ball from the 20 metre line and batted the ball past the keeper, increasing the gap to a 3-point lead giving the Friary boys confidence. The play was kept in the Friary forward line and they managed to convert scores to further increase their lead. Two frees taken by a consistent Charlie Treen resulted in two goals for the boys in red and black.

The boys did well to keep a clean sheet which was helped by David Byrne who made many brilliant saves. Captain Conor Kent impressed with his leadership skills in the half back line and had a clear role in the Friary’s defence as was Aidan Higgins at full back and Dara McGrath. The Ennistymon boys never gave up but were denied time after time by the solid back line.

The midfield partnership of club men Charles Treen and William Beresford worked tirelessly until the final whistle. Treen was accurate on the frees and Beresford battled in every ruck. The wing forwards John Gleeson and Marc Mahoney, impressed well on the day and contributed to vital scores. Cian Gleeson did well to stay going after an early altercation which resulted in a yellow card for the Ennistymon goalkeeper.

The Management of Jason Forrestall and Mark O’Brien helped to lead the team to a famous win. This win was helped by Mark O’Brien’s lucky hat. When the final whistle blew the atmosphere was euphoric. A day to remember as the boys made history by being the first Friary team to win this competition. The presentation was made to captain Conor Kent on behalf of the Friary boys and the celebrations began. The Friary brought many supporters which lifted the team’s morale.

Man of the Match: Charlie Treen
Score of the Match: Mikey Mullaney (45th minute)

St Augustine’s: Charlie Treen (1-9), Brayden Dee Carter (1-2), Seanie Callaghan (1-1), John Gleeson (1-0), Michael Mullaney (0-1), Cian Gleeson (0-1)
Ennistymon CBS: B Rouine (0-15, 12F & 3x 65s), E Rouine (0-1), D Fahy (0-1)

St Augustine’s Team: David Byrne (Abbeyside); Oisin Brazil (Abbeyside), Aidan Higgins (Abbeyside), Rian Hayes (Kilrossanty); Dara McGrath (Stradbally), Michael Mullaney (Stradbally), Conor Kent (Abbeyside); Charlie Treen (Abbeyside), William Beresford (Abbeyside); John Gleeson (Ardmore), Adam Carroll Lawler (Abbeyside), Mark O’Mahoney (An Ghaeltacht); Sean O’Callaghan (Abbeyside), Brayden Dee Carter (Brickey Rangers), Cian Gleeson (Ardmore)
Subs: Cathal Sweeney (Abbeyside), Eddie Flavin (Ardmore), Eoin Veale (Kilrossanty), Jamie Coonan (Brickey Rangers), Kevin Connors (Kilrossanty), Kieran Power (Brickey Rangers), Brian Callaghan (Abbeyside), Brian Fox (Brickey Rangers), Cathal Sullivan (Ardmore), Darragh Hallahan (St.Pats), Ferghal Slevin (Abbeyside), Jack Kiely (Abbeyside), Jack Powe (Kilrossanty), Kaylum Hogan (Kilrossanty), Louis Campbell (Abbeyside), Nicholas Hynes (Clashmore), Rory Fennell (Stradbally), Rory Tyrell (Abbeyside), Sean Dunford (St. Pats), (Sean Spratt (Brickey Rangers), Séamus O’Sullivan (Kilrossanty), Tommy Fennell (Stradbally) and Gavin Christopher (Dungarvan).

Posted in: News

Date: 13th January 2020