Main sponsor:

13th October 2021

Munster GAA Post Primary Schools Dean Ryan Cup Under 16.5 A Hurling Quarter Final

St. Colmans Fermoy: 5-16(31) Thurles CBS: 1-9(12)

By Ed Donnelly

A dominating second half performance by St. Colmans Fermoy proved too much for a disappointing Thurles CBS outfit in the Quarter-Final of the 2021/2022 Dean Ryan Cup played at The Ragg on Wednesday afternoon.

Played in mild, calm and sunny conditions, the St. Colmans team got off to a blistering start when captain Michael O’Driscoll scored a long range point from play in the opening minute. This was followed by points by Cian Cronin O’Neill (2), Liam Óg Hegarty and Oisin Fitzgerald as the Fermoy school raced in to a 0-5 to 0-0 lead after six minutes.

Robbie Ryan pointed a free for Thurles CBS to open their account in the eighth minute as they looked to get up to the pace of the game. Further points by Jack Hayes (2) and Darragh Kelly left the score at 0-7 to 0-4 at the water break in favour of St. Colmans.

Thurles continued their good form in the second quarter and following points from Robbie Ryan (2) and David Costigan, an outstanding individual goal by Darragh Kelly in the 28th minute brought the sides level at 1-7 to 0-10.

St. Colmans responded in the best possible way to the Thurles goal as within a minute, Liam Óg Hegarty made no mistake from close range to raise the first green flag for his side. Ciaran O’Leary followed up with a point from play to leave the Cork school in front by four points at the interval, 1-11 to 1-7.

After a competitive first half period, more of the same was expected by the fine crowd in attendance at the Mid Tipperary venue. As it transpired, St. Colmans took over in every sector. Goals by Michael O’Driscoll and Thomas Maher helped Colmans to win the third quarter by 2-4 to 0-1 to effectively end the game as a contest at the second half water break, leaving the score at 3-15 to 1-8.

Little changed in the final quarter as Thurles would add just a further pointed free as their scores dried up completely. Further goals for St. Colmans by Louis Roche and Ciaran O’Leary in the closing stages rounded out a 19 point win and a place in the semi-final versus CBC Cork or Ard Scoil Ris.

St. Colmans Fermoy: Ronan O’Riordan (Bride Rovers); Aodhán Hickey (Ballyduff), Seán Óg Kenneally (Kilworth), Darragh O’Brien (Fermoy); Pierce O’Riordan (Kilworth), Oisin Fitzgerald (St. Catherines), James O’Brien (Fermoy); Michael O’Driscoll (Watergrasshill, Captain), Seán O’Donoghue (St. Catherines); Liam Foley (Watergrasshill), Cian Cronin O’Neill (Watergrasshill), Kian O’Donoghue (St. Catherines); Liam Óg Hegarty (Kilworth), Ciaran O’Leary (Watergrasshill), Thomas Maher (Kilworth)

Thurles CBS: James Woodlock (Dúrlas Óg); Padraig O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Evan Morris (Holycross-Ballycahill), Jack Lahart (Holycross-Ballycahill); Paul Noonan (Dúrlas Óg), Kieran Purcell (Dúrlas Óg, Captain), Sean Synott (Roscrea); David Costigan (Moycarkey-Borris), Keith Loughnane (Dúrlas Óg); Ronan O’Brien (Dúrlas Óg), Robbie Ryan (Holycross-Ballycahill), David Doyle (Moyne-Templetuohy); Jack Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris), Kevin Laffan (Gortnahoe-Glengoole), Darragh Kelly (Éire Óg Annacarty)

Referee: Fergal Horgan

Posted in: News

Date: 13th October 2021