Main sponsor:

29th January 2022

Tralee CBS (Kerry) defeated Skibbereen Community School (Cork) by 4-18 to 2-8 in the TUS Corn Uí Mhuirí Under 19 A Football Semi-Final on Saturday January 29th at Mallow.

Click here to view photos from the game

Match Highlights

Corn Ui Mhuri: Thomas O’Donnell stars as Tralee CBS continue dominant form

Report by Therese O’Callaghan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Tralee CBS (Kerry) 4-18 Skibbereen Community School (Cork) 2-8

Defending champions Tralee CBS were comfortable victors in the TUS Corn Uí Mhuirí (U19 A football) semi-final at Mallow.

Their performance, which included an outstanding second-half showing, yielded a 16-point win. It comes after their 14-point victory over Clonakilty CC in the quarter-final.

They had so many eye-catching displays throughout the field, amongst them their top-scorer Thomas O’Donnell who amassed 2-3.

In an action-packed first-half, Tralee CBS had the better of the opening exchanges, they moved into a 0-3 to 0-1 lead on 10 minutes with points from play through Jordan Kissane (after 20 seconds) and Jerh Brosnan, and there was one from a placed ball from Conor Horan.

It wasn’t long before Skibbereen CS were on level terms, a Niall Daly free was followed by a huge point from Jamie O’Driscoll – Tomás O’Mahony the provider.

Moments later, centre-back O’Mahony was back on his own goal-line providing a vital interception. However, it didn’t upset the Kerry school’s momentum, who added a Kissane brace, 0-5 to 0-3.

When Jason O’Neill found the back of the net following a marvellous one-two with Tomás Ó Donnabháin, Skibbereen CS led for the first time.

Their joy didn’t last too long as Thomas O’Donnell scored a goal at the other end when he got a touch to Brosnan’s cross.

Niall Daly then brought his side within one with six minutes remaining.

But the pendulum swung in Tralee’s favour once again, a trio of unanswered points – Kissane, Horan and their captain Armin Heinrich – stretched their advantage to four points.

And their goalkeeper Ben Quilter came to their rescue denying Skibbereen’s Jamie O’Driscoll a goal in the first minute of stoppage.

There was time for Ó Donnabháin to bag a great score from play, to leave the half-time score, 1-8 to 1-5 in favour of Tralee CBS.

Tralee CBS resumed with purpose. They kicked four points on the trot from Kissane (2), O’Donnell and Brosnan.

Skibbereen rallied, O’Driscoll was called for over-carrying when bearing down on goal. However, there was no mistake by skipper Robbie Minihane – selected at midfield – billowed the net, 1-12 to 2-5.

Their defence was soaking a lot of pressure though, and they eventually had to give way when substitute Maurice O’Connell, Heinrich and O’Donnell slotted home goals in the 53rd, 54th and 60th minute.

Tralee CBS will take on St Brendan’s College in the final.

Scorers for Tralee CBS: T O’Donnell (2-3), J Kissane (0-8, 0-6 frees), A Heinrich (1-1), M O’Connell (1-0), J Brosnan, C Horan (0-2 frees) (0-3 each).

Scorers for Skibbereen CS: J O’Neill and R Minihane (1-0 each), N Daly (0-3, 0-2 frees), T O Donnabháin, I Harte (0-2 each), J O’Driscoll (0-1).

TRALEE CBS: B Quilter (Austin Stacks); B Donnellan (Churchill), J Foley (Kerins O’Rahilly’s), C White (John Mitchels); C Browne (Austin Stacks), S McGrath (St Senan’s), B Hanafin (Kerins O’Rahilly’s); A Heinrich (Austin Stacks, Capt), C Horan (Austin Stacks); D Daly (Ballymacelligott), T O’Donnell (Castlegregory), A Sheehy (Ballymacelligott); J Kissane (Austin Stacks), D Sayers (Austin Stacks), J Brosnan (Moyvane).
Subs: D Sweeney (Ballymacelligott) for D Daly (half-time), D Moriarty (Currow) for A Sheehy (38), M O’Connell (Castlegregory) for D Sayers (38), R O’Connell (Austin Stacks) for B Hanafin (49), TJ Heaphy (Kerins O’Rahilly’s) for C White (55).

SKIBBEREEN CS: S Kingston (Tadhg MacCarthaigh); S Carey (Ilen Rovers), J Bohane (Castlehaven), H O’Donovan (Clann na nGael); S O’Connell (Castlehaven), T O’Mahony (Castlehaven), C Hegarty (Tadhg MacCarthaigh); T Ó Donnabháin (Clonakilty), J O’Neill (Cstlehaven); S Brown (Castlehaven), N Daly (Ilen Rovers), F Collins (Castlehaven); R Minihane (Castlehaven, Capt), J O’Driscoll (Castlehaven), L Shorten (Tadhg MacCarthaigh).
Subs: I Harte (O’Donovan Rossa) for F Collins (38), J O’Brien (O’Donovan Rossa) for T Ó Donnabháin (47), O Daly (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) for L Shorten (55).

Referee: Niall Quinn (Clare).

Posted in: News

Date: 29th January 2022