Main sponsor:

25th January 2024

Nenagh CBS defeated Ardscoil Ris Limerick by 2-16 to 0-21 in the 2023/2024 Munster GAA PPS TUS Corn an Artaigh Final on Saturday February 3rd at Cusack Park Ennis.

Harty Cup Final: Nenagh win thriller

St. Joesph’s CBS Nenagh 2-16 Ardscoil Rís 0-20

Report By Tom Clancy in Cusack Park, Ennis for

A 63rd minute goal from Andy Hoolan proved the killer blow to flip the result of the 2023/24 Harty Cup in favour of St. Joesph’s CBS Nenagh, who claimed a first ever title.

It was the sweetest way to win, after Ardscoil Rís looked home and dry when sub Patrick Kearney put them two up with the additional two minutes virtually elapsed.

Then, after a goalmouth scramble, Brian O’Meara saw his effort superbly saved by Fionn O’Brien before eventually Hoolan whipped through a crowd of bodies for a most famous score.

Nenagh were playing in a fifth final, a first since 2012. Ardscoil who were seeking a sixth title since 2010, having lost in 2022. It is the third year on the trot that this competition had a maiden winner.

This Munster PPS U19A final was played on an immaculate Cusack Park in Ennis, with the conditions ideal for hurling. With so much of this competition played in challenging conditions, the 3,014 spectators in attendance were treated to fast fare and high quality hurling from many of the games up-and-coming stars.

A frantic opening saw talisman Darragh McCarthy and Fintan Fitzgerald trade scores inside 70 seconds, indeed each of the first eight scores were scored be different players, as Ardscoil took an early 0-5 to 0-3 advantage.

Fitzgerald was key throughout for Ardscoil, and he fired over four points from distance by the 18th minute, to push the Limerick school 0-8 to 0-5 clear.

Despite their start, Ardscoil were eventually matched in many departments by their counterparts from the Premier County. Nenagh certainly closed the half strongly to go in level at half-time.

The opening goal arrived on 28 minutes, when Austin Duff, the substitute stamped his mark on the game. After being introduced just four minutes prior, he quickly fired over a point. He then raced onto a handpass from Aodhán O’Connor and dispatched to the net from a tight angle.

Doughan’s third meant it was 1-8 to 0-11 at the change of ends.

McCarthy continued to grow into this contest as too did Marc O’Brien. Those two were prominent after the interval and by 40 minutes it was 1-13 to 0-15, with McCarthy’s free from his own 65 putting them ahead.

Three in a row for Ardscoil, from Eoin Begley, sub Darragh Gleeson and Fitzgerlad put them ahead entering the final minutes. However, as it was for most of the contest, neither side could shake free.

Nenagh went ahead before Michael Collins, O’Brien and Kearney gave them the two point advantage. A huge free from Man-of-the-Match Ciaran Foley landed around the square, before eventually Moneygall magic gave St. Joseph’s CBS their own piece of history.

Scorers for St Joseph’s CBS Nenagh: Darragh McCarthy 0-7 (4fs) Austin Duff 1-1, Andy Hoolan 1-0, Eoghan Doughan 0-3, Mason Cawley 0-3, Ciaran Foley 0-2.

Scorers for Ardscoil Rís: Fintan Fitzgerald, Marc O’Brien (1f) 0-5 each, Danny Chaplin 0-2 (2fs), Michael Collins 0-3 each; Eoin Begley 0-2, Darragh Gleeson, Daniel Scully, Patrick Kearney 0-1 each.

ST JOSEPH’S CBS NENAGH (all Tipperary): Simon Grace (Ballina); Conor Grace (Burgess), Cian Connolly (Nenagh Éire Óg), Gavin McGrath (Kiladangan); Jack Doran (Toomevara), Jake Hackett (Toomevara), Andy Hoolan (Moneygall); Ciaran Foley (Borrisokane), Mason Cawley (Nenagh Éire Óg); Jack Mulcahy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Darragh McCarthy (Toomevara, Capt), Zack Keller (Nenagh Éire Óg); Aodhan O’Connor (Nenagh Éire Óg), Danny Quinn (Silvermines), Eoghan Doughan (Moneygall).
Subs: Austin Duff (Toomevara) for Quinn (25); Darragh Treacy (Silvermines) for Keller (48); Joe O’Dwyer (Burgess) for Mulcahy (51);

ARDSCOIL RÍS (Limerick unless stated): Fionn O’Brien (Bruree); John O’Keeffe (Na Piarsaigh), Sean McMahon (Smith O’Briens, Clare), Sean Morrissey (Dromin-Athlacca); James Finn (Na Piarsaigh), Jamie Moylan (Cratloe, Clare), Diarmuid Scully (Dromin-Athlacca); Riain McNamara (Cratloe, Clare), Matthew O’Halloran (Sixmilebridge, Clare); Diarmuid Stritch (Clonlara, Clare), Fintan Fitzgerald (Mungret St Paul’s), Michael Collins (Clonlara, Clare); Danny Chaplin (Sixmilebridge, Clare), Marc O’Brien (Cratloe, Clare), Eoin Begley (Clonlara, Clare).
Subs: Darragh Gleeson (Adare) for O’Keeffe (half-time); Patrick Kearney (Adare) for Chaplin (39); Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs) for O’Connor (55), Jack Cosgrove for Stritch (58), Sean Arthur (Newmarket on Fergus) for Collins (63).

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Cork).

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the 40 page Dr. Harty Cup Final programme for 5 euro.

Match Day Parking

Parking will be available on Saturday in the Clare County Council Car Park in ENnis.

Ticket Information

Adult – €12
Students/OAP – €8
U12s – Free

Live Streaming

The TUS Dr. Harty Cup Final will be streamed live on at a cost of €9.99

Dr. Harty Cup Roll of Honour

Posted in: News

Date: 25th January 2024