Main sponsor:

16th February 2024

Nenagh CBS defeated Kilkenny CBS by 3-19 to 2-11 in the Masita All-Ireland Post Primary Schools Croke Cup Hurling Quarter-Final on Saturday February 17th at Rathdowney.

Harty champs Nenagh CBS march on in Croke Cup

Croke Cup quarter-final: St Joseph’s CBS, Nenagh 3-19 Kilkenny CBS 2-11

Report by Shane Brophy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

First-time Harty Cup champions Nenagh CBS showed they are hungry for more success after seeing off Leinster runners-up Kilkenny CBS in the All-Ireland Post Primary Schools Senior ‘A’ Hurling quarter final in Rathdowney on Saturday.

With the finalists in Munster, Leinster & Connacht making up the All-Ireland series participants, the runners-up from those are joined by a provincial champion for a quarter-final on an annual rotational basis. It was Munster’s turn which left Nenagh with just a two-week turnaround to come down from the high of their historic Harty Cup triumph.

They were full value for their win, although overcoming a sticky patch in the first half, an Eanna O Casaide goal on 20 minutes giving Kilkenny CBS the lead after Nenagh started on the front foot with Darragh McCarthy on target inside 25 seconds. However, the Nenagh skipper had an off-day from placed balls and five first-half misses prevented the Munster champions from making their dominance count on the scoreboard.

They responded to the Kilkenny goal with one of their own from Danny Quinn in the 28th minute, set up by Austin Duff who once again made a massive impact off the bench. Points from McCarthy and Eoghan Doughan, who took over the free-taking duties, gave Nenagh a 1-9 to 1-5 half-time advantage.

The Munster champions kicked on in the third quarter with Jake Hackett marshalling the defence well from centre-back while points from Ciaran Foley, McCarthy, the free-taking of Doughan and livewire sub John O’Dwyer pushed them 1-15 to 1-8 clear on the three-quarter mark.

Kilkenny CBS changed their approach and started running the ball at Nenagh and it yielded three points in a row, although one was from a penalty on 47 minutes when Greg Kelly’s shot rose after the bar after their best forward Ryan Corcoran was pulled down in the square.

The Leinster runners-up had momentum, but Eoghan Doughan responded with a timely point for Nenagh from play. Man of the match Mason Cawley chipped in with two from play.

They sealed the win on 54 minutes as Kilkenny made a mess of a short puckout with Doughan playing in John O’Dwyer for a goal, with fellow sub Darragh Treacy adding another in injury time, while Shane Culloten managed a consolation goal for Kilkenny CBS.

Nenagh CBS progress to the All-Ireland semi-final where they will play Connacht champions St Raphael’s College, Loughrea on March 2nd with St Kieran’s College Kilkenny awaiting the winners of tomorrow’s quarter-final between Limerick’s Ardscoil Ris and Presentation Athenry of Galway.

Scorers for Nenagh CBS: D McCarthy (2 frees), E Doughan (4 frees) 0-6 each; Joe O’Dwyer 1-1; D Quinn, D Treacy 1-0 each; M Cawley 0-3; C Foley 0-2; A Duff 0-1.

Scorers for Kilkenny CBS: R Corcoran 0-5 (3 frees); E O Casaide, S Culleton 1-0 each; M Stynes 0-2 (1 free); G Kelly (pen), A Clifford, P Lacey B Moore 0-1 each.

ST JOSEPH’S CBS, NENAGH: S Grace (Ballina); C Grace (Burgess), C Connolly (Nenagh Eire Og), G McGrath (Kiladangan); J Doran (Toomevara), J Hackett (Toomevara), A Hoolan (Moneygall); C Foley (Borrisokane), M Cawley (Nenagh Eire Og); J Mulcahy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), D McCarthy (Toomevara), Z Keller (Nenagh Eire Og); A O’Connor (Nenagh Eire Og), D Quinn (Silvermines), E Doughan (Moneygall).
Subs: A Duff (Toomevara) for Mulcahy (12); J O’Dwyer (Burgess) for O’Connor (42); D Treacy (Silvermines) for Quinn (50); B O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs) for Keller (54); C Cooney (Burgess) for McCarthy (58).

KILKENNY CBS: D Power (James Stephens); J Dowling (Erins Own), B Brennan (Young Irelands), D Hennessey (Dicksboro); M Stynes (Dicksboro), B O’Neill (Graigue-Ballycallan), M Bolger (St Martin’s); A Cass (Thomastown), A Clifford (Dicksboro); E O Casaide (Danesfort), R Corcoran (Graigue-Ballycallan), S Culleton (St Patrick’s); G Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels), P Lacey (Dicksboro), B Moore (Dicksboro).
Subs: P Purcell (Barrow Rangers) for Bolger (HT); N Drennan (Galmoy) for O Casaide (43); J Bergin (James Stephens) for Cass (46).

Referee: P Dunne (Laois).

Ticket Information

Click here to buy tickets

Posted in: News

Date: 16th February 2024