Main sponsor:

13th March 2024

Scoil Pól Kilfinane (Limerick) defeated Coláiste Mhuire, Ballygar (Galway) by 0-16 to 1-8 in the Masita All-Ireland Post Primary Schools Michael Cusack Cup (Senior C Hurling) Final on Friday March 15th at Tulla, Co. Clare.

Scoil Pól Kilfinane hurlers claim All-Ireland glory

All-Ireland Post Primary Hurling C Final: Scoil Pol Kilfinane 0-16 Colaiste Mhuire Ballygar 1-8

Report by John Keogh for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Scoil Pól Kilfinane are All-Ireland Hurling Post Primary Senior C champions following a 0-16 to 1-8 victory over Coláiste Mhuire Ballygar in Tulla.

The Limerick school were full value for the victory and had Darren Frewen to thank for a scintillating performance from corner forward.

The Glenroe youngster fired over four points that included a sublime sideline cut that helped them to a three-point half-time advantage.

Scoil Pól led by six at one stage in the second half but Ballygar brought it back to a two-point game with 11 minutes to play.

However, there was a kick in Scoil Pól with scores from the influential Shane Fitzgibbon, Darragh Cronin and Frewen seeing them to glory.

Playing into a gale in the opening half, Coláiste Mhuire made a dream start with a Cathal Maloney point and the same man then set Harry O’Sullivan up for a goal that had them 1-1 to 0-0 ahead after six minutes.

Scoil Pól eventually settled with Fitzgibbon, Frewen and two scores from Kristian O’Gorman seeing them level.

Frewen was a constant threat to the Coláiste Mhuire rearguard and his second score of the half then had the Limerick school in front with 16 minutes on the clock.

Joey Wallace did level for the Galway outfit but strikes from Colin Bresnihan, O’Gorman and Frewen’s sideline saw Scoil Pól into an 0-8 to 1-2 half time advantage.

Coláiste Mhuire had a great chance to level the game in the early stages of the second half but Harry Holmes’ goal-bound shot was brilliantly saved by Cathal Dennehy.

O’Gorman responded with another two placed balls to stretch the advantage to five and a crucial James O’Sullivan score saw Scoil Pól in firm control.

However, with 20 minutes remaining Maloney grabbed his side up from the floor and back into the game with consecutive scores from distance.

Wallace then made it a two-point game to set up a grandstand finish but it was Scoil Pól that kicked into a new gear late on to earn a deserved five-point winning margin.

Scorers for Scoil Pól Kilfinane: K O’Gorman 0-6 (5f), D Frewen 0-4 (0-1 s/l), S Fitzgibbon 0-2 (2f), C Bresnihan, J O’Sullivan, D Cronin and A Frewen 0-1 each

Scorers for Coláiste Mhuire Ballygar: J Wallace (3f) and C Maloney (2f) 0-4 each, H O’Sullivan 1-0.

Scoil Pól Kilfinane: (Limerick unless stated): C Dennehy (Glenroe); D Cronin (Kilmallock), J Philpot (Blackrock), O Crowley (Staker Wallace); J O’Connell (Bruree), S Fitzgibbon (Dromin-Athlacca), K Hayden (Bruree); C O’Riordan (Effin), C Bresnihan (Castletown-Ballyagran); O Barrington (Bruree), J O’Sullivan (Garryspillane), B Lonergan (Glenroe); D Frewen (Glenroe), K O’Gorman (Charleville, Cork), D Dennehy (Glenroe).
Subs: M Barry (Staker Wallace) for Lonergan (h-t), A Frewen (Glenroe) for D Dennehy (43 mins), M Quaid (Dromin-Athlacca) for Barrington (56 mins).

Coláiste Mhuire Ballygar: M Naughton (Ballygar); A Kenny (Four Roads), L Finnerty (Ballygar), E Kelly (Four Roads); R Coyle (Four Roads), C Kelly (Four Roads), G Healy (Ballygar); E Naughton (Ballygar), C Maloney (Ballygar); J Kelly (Four Roads), G Meares (Four Roads), C Downey (Ballygar); H O’Sullivan (Ballygar), J Wallace (Ballygar), H Holmes (Ballygar).
Subs: O Finneran (Four Roads) for Downey (59 mins), A Kilcommins (Ballygar) for Finnerty (60 mins).

Referee: J Bugler (Clare).

Ticket Information

Click here to buy tickets

Live Streaming – Watch the Game Live

Posted in: News

Date: 13th March 2024