Main sponsor:

29th May 2024

Magic Maguire hat trick denies St Caimins Munster crown

Munster Under 17 E Football Final

Presentation Ballingarry 3-4 St Caimins, Shannon 1-6

Report By Michael O’Connor

Disappointment was etched all over the features of the players and management of St Caimins, Shannon on Friday last as the final Munster post primary game of the season was played out in Knocklong. Their opponents Presentation Ballingarry over the hour were the better side yet St Caimins had the chances for glory and in all probability played well within themselves especially when they had the chances to take a strong lead in the first quarter.

In what was a low scoring game with two evenly matched sides refereed by inter county referee Johnny Murphy. St Caimins had the opening two attacks in the first five minutes kicking two wides and one effort into the arms Presentation Ballingarry goalkeeper Eoin Morrissey. There was no error however on the part of Ballingarry when with their first attack after six minutes their initial effort from Thomas Treacy was saved by Oran McInerney only for sniper Conor Maguire on hand to first time to the Caimins net.

The Shannon school was rocked hard but to their credit hit back with four scores between the 9th and 17th minute as Lee Maguire (2), Kevin Hanley and Eddie Meaney were so capable in their scoretaker. It was evident though that when in the ascendancy they too easily gave the ball away in positive attacking positions and were slow to track back despite the urgings of managers Tom Queally, Ger Keane and Emmet McMahon. Charlie Noonan after 19 minutes had the sides level on (1-1) to (0-4) and most definitely the momentum was in favour of Ballingarry and for the remainder of the half St Caimins were thankful due to good defending and perhaps good fortune kept Ballingarry scoreless and indeed thanks to another Lee Maguire point held a narrow (0-5) to (1-1) half time lead.

The restart was good for St Caimins as Lee Maguire in the 33rd minute stretched their lead to two points but it was clear that Ballingarry had commenced the second half in better form than St Caimins. Jack Treacy kicked their sides second point in the 35th minute.

Five minutes later the eventual equaliser emerged with Charlie Noonan kicking the equaliser which was their final point scored in the game with 20 minutes remaining. A number of hard tackles were witnessed as the intensity increased with three played entering John Murphy’s notepad. 15 minutes elapsed between St Caimins attacks that ended when Lee Maguire sent a free wide that was needed by his side to settle their nerves. Conor Maguire kicked a 48th minute free to send the South Tipperary school into the lead as St Caimins over the final 15 minutes brought on four replacements.

St Caimins celebrated when Lee Maguire hit then net after Adam Ryan’s initial effort was denied and now the Shannon men were two clear and once more looking like winners with minimal possession. Yet this comfort was their undoing because as they celebrated Ballingarry attacked from the kickout and Maguire hammered the ball home for the lead score. Before St Caimins could draw breath Ballingarry had the ball once more in the Shannon school’s net again from Maguire. The best St Caimins could do with the game gone from their grasp was a late late wide from Lee Maguire before Presentation Ballingarry were declared winners.

Presentation Ballingarry scorers: Conor Maguire (3-1), Charlie Noonan (0-2), Jack Treacy (0-1),

Presentation Ballingarry: Eoin Morrissey (St Patricks), Mike O’Dwyer (St Patricks), Alex Britton (Mullinahone), Cormac Duggan (St Patricks), Rory O’Brien (Ballingarry), Thomas Blackmore (Ballingarry), Colin O’Brien (Mullinahone), Thomas McGrath (Ballingarry), Luke Lacy (Fethard), Jack Treacy (Dicksboro), Jack Ryan (Ballingarry), Sean Fitzgerald (St Patricks), Conor Maguire (Grangemockler), Charlie Noonan (St Patricks), Thomas Treacy (Dicksboro)

St Caimins scorers: Lee Maguire (1-4), Kevin Hanley, Eddie Meaney (0-1) each

St Caimins: Oran McInerney (Wolfe Tones), Peter Gilligan (Sixmilebridge), Mark Mullins (Sixmilebridge), Ultan Donnelly (Cratloe), Kyle McInerney (Wolfe Tones), Dara McInerney (Newmarket on Fergus), Tadgh Guinnane (Sixmilebridge), Jan Zmija, Adeola Adernyi (Wolfe Tones), Shay Waller (Wolfe Tones), Eddie Meaney (Wolfe Tones), Cian O’Gorman (Cratloe), Lee Maguire (Wolfe Tones), Kevin Hanley (Wolfe Tones)
Subs: Caelan Tourish (Wolfe Tones) for Deasy, Adam Ryan (Wolfe Tones) for O’Gorman, Finn Carrig (Wolfe Tones) for Meaney, Elliot O’Callaghan (Wolfe Tones) for Hanley.

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Posted in: News

Date: 29th May 2024