Main sponsor:

26th February 2020

St. Flannans Ennis defeated CBC Cork by 1-15 to 1-12 in the Dr. Harty Cup Final on Sunday March 1st at Mallow.

Live Streaming

St Flannan’s hold out against Christians in Harty Cup final

Report By Therese O’Callaghan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

St Flannan’s College (Clare) 1-15 Christian Brothers College (Cork) 1-12

The Dr Harty Cup is heading back to Ennis after St Flannan’s College claimed their 22nd title in Mallow today, their first since 2005.

The Ennis school led from the sixth minute, and while CBC were just a point behind early in the second half and did have numerous goal opportunities, St Flannan’s overall strength was telling.

St Flannan’s, playing into the teeth of a strong crossfield wind in front of a crowd of 2,947, established a 0-4 to 0-1 lead in the first 12 minutes. Setting up defensively, their short passing game worked well with point from Cian Galvin, Peter Power, Killian O’Connor, and Tony Butler helping them on their way.

They struck a decisive blow a minute later when a free-flowing move started and finished by Diarmuid Cahill was fired to the net.

Jack Cahalane was the main man for CBC, superbly keeping the score ticking over, his accuracy from frees crucial – he shot five of their first-half tally, four from placed balls.

St Flannan’s, despite being somewhat wayward towards the end of the half closed out with points from the hard-working O’Connor and Conner Hegarty to lead at the interval, 1-8 to 0-7.

Three Cahalane scores after the break cut the gap to a single point, however, St Flannan’s pushed on again; Galvin landing the next three points, including one outstanding effort from play. Oisin O’Donnell and O’Connor added points as the advantage stretched out to five points with 10 minutes remaining.

CBC never gave up, but they needed one of those goal chances to go over the line. They did raise a green flag, but it came too late when Cahalane netted from a penalty in the seventh minute of added time.

St Flannan’s, who were wasteful at times, held out and celebrated in style.

Scorers for St Flannan’s: C Galvin (0-5, 0-4 frees), K O’Connor (0-4), D Cahill (1-0), C Hegarty and O O’Donnell (0-2 each), T Butler and P Power (0-1 each),

Scorers for CBC: J Cahalane (1-9, 1-0 pen, 0-8 frees), R Cotter (0-2), E Kirby (0-1).

St Flannan’s: C Broderick (Clarecastle); N Walsh (The Banner), D Healy (Clarecastle), M Reidy (Ballyea); T Butler (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield), C Galvin (Clarecastle, Joint-Capt), S Casey (Ballyea); C Hegarty Kilnamona, (Joint-Capt), J Collins (Éire Óg); A Brohan (Ruan), C Cassidy (Clooney Quin), K O’Connor (Corofin); P Power (Newmarket-on-Fergus), D Cahill (Corofin), O O’Donnell (Crusheen).
Subs: J Doherty (Clarecastle) for C Cassidy (45), D Cunningham (Clooney Quin) for P Power (54), D Nagle (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield) for A Brohan (57), R Power (Ruan) for O O’Donnell (59).

CBC: E O’Neill (Blarney); G Reddy (Midleton), S Kingston (Ballinora), E Downey (Glen Rovers); P Cummins (St Colman’s), C Daly (Lismore), G Mulcahy (Glen Rovers); J Dwyer (Ballincollig), E Kidney (Cobh); E Kirby (Blarney), N Hartnett (Douglas, Capt), D McSweeney (Blarney); R Cotter (Blackrock), J Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), D Burke (Douglas).
Sub: D Cremin (Midleton) for D McSweeney (53).

Referee: John O’Halloran (Limerick).

Fixture Details

Corn an Artaigh (19 A H)
Date: Sunday 01.03.2020
Time: 12:00pm
CBC v St Flannans
Venue: Mallow
Referee: TBC
Extra time if necessary (RESULT ON THE DAY)

Paths to the Final

St. Flannans College Ennis
Semi-Final – St. Flannans College Ennis 0-18 Our Ladys Templemore 1-13 – Saturday January 25th at MacDonagh Park Nenagh
Quarter-Final – St. Flannans College Ennis 3-17 St. Josephs Secondary School Tulla 0-16 – Wednesday January 8th at Cusack Park Ennis
Group B Round 3 – St. Flannans College Ennis 0-13 Gaelcholáiste Mhuire an Mhainistir Thuaigh 1-9 – Wednesday November 20th at Cappamore
Group B Round 2 – St. Flannans College Ennis 0-21 De La Salle College Waterford 1-14 – Wednesday November 6th at Bansha
Group B Round 1 – St. Flannans College Ennis 2-17 Blackwater Community School Lismore 2-11 – Wednesday October 16th at Kilmallock

Christian Brothers College, Cork
Semi-Final – Christian Brothers College, Cork 2-11 CBS Midleton 0-16 – Saturday January 25th at Páirc Uí Rinn
Quarter-Final – Christian Brothers College, Cork 1-13 Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 1-12 – Wednesday January 8th at Watergrasshill
Group C Round 3 – Christian Brothers College, Cork 0-13 Árdscoil Rís Limerick 0-13 – Wednesday November 20th at Kilmallock
Group C Round 2 – Christian Brothers College, Cork 2-14 Our Ladys Templemore 0-11 – Wednesday November 6th at Boherlahan
Group C Round 1 – Christian Brothers College, Cork 3-17 St. Francis College Rochestown 1-13 – Wednesday October 16th at Ballygarvan

Upcoming Fixtures
Corn Croke Ceathru Chraobh na h-Eireann Quarter-Finals – Saturday February 29th
(1) Munster Winners V Leinster Runners up
(2) Connacht Runners up V Munster Runners up

Corn Croke Ceathru Chraobh na h-Eireann Semi-Finals – Monday March 16th
Connacht Winners V Winners Quarter-Final (1)
Leinster Winners V Winners 1/4 Final (2)

Corn Croke Ceathru Chraobh na h-Eireann Final – Saturday March 28th

Match Programme

Don’t forget to pick up a copy of the 40 page souvenir match programme

Posted in: News

Date: 26th February 2020